lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Sticker shock

on February 17, 2011

So we’ve been doing a little more of the logistical planning, trying to figure out baby and $$$ and how much sperm we would need.

Here’s what I’ve got calculated, for the sperm bank we want to use:

For one vial plus shipping: $419

For two vials plus shipping: $669

For three vials plus shipping: $919.

…. damn!!! I need one of those emoticons with the eyeballs popping out of its head. We’re potentially talking close to a grand, for ONE CYCLE! one cycle! I’m definitely in sticker shock mode at the moment…
I knew it was expensive, I’ve even looked at the prices before.  But I obviously didn’t think this completely through all the way (until now).  I know ideal conditions would be to insem at 18hr, 36hr, and 48hr post- positive OPK. I also know that people have done it with just one vial.  I think for now we’re going to plan for one vial and buy more if possible when the time comes… keeping in mind that the month we want to inseminate (August) is right after our wedding and right before our honeymoon.  So money might be a little tight.

Sigh. I’m starting to get discouraged and we haven’t even begun yet! This is definitely one of those moments I wish we were a heterosexual couple and we could just get it on.


4 responses to “Sticker shock

  1. Michaela says:

    What about this one?

    Oh, I know what you are talking about. Only thinking of how much it could end up costing. *sigh*

  2. Heather says:

    Hi! I stumbled upon your blog… I read a few blogs prior to this one…. Do you have insurance? Some cover the cost of sperm. I’ve seen kits online for at home insemination –we tried this method but we couldn’t stop laughing. Good Luck! =)

    • lezbemoms says:

      Hey thanks for stopping by! I do have insurance, but it’s the crappy graduate-student kind (actually, not so crappy, but not the best of the best) so I’m not sure if it would cover fertility stuff. I guess I should check, huh. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a comment