lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

The Labor and Delivery Tour We Didn’t Mean to Take

on May 13, 2015

I called and left a message with the hospital coordinator Monday that we would like a tour of L&D. Tuesday, we got our unofficial tour… Because Shorty got admitted to the hospital! Nobody freak, the baby is fine. She’s not in labor, she just can’t breathe.

Let me back up: all last week, Pax was sick with a cough. We figured it was a cold, kept him home, and that was that. Monday morning, Shorty woke up coughing and we just figured she had what he had had. No biggie.

Monday night, however, she called me while I was at Starbucks studying and told me I needed to come home NOW. She sounded horrible. Concerned, I rushed home and found her hacking and coughing, barely able to get a breath. I decided we should go to the ER right then and there, but she wouldn’t budge- between coughing fits, she told me she didn’t want to go, she just wanted me home. No amount  of pleading would budge her, so I reluctantly agreed to staying home, with the stipulation that she go see her doctor first thing in the morning. Morning came, she went to see her doctor, and lo and behold he had her directly admitted to the hospital- do not pass go, do not collect $200, do not go back home. Straight to the hospital.

When she called me to tell me I was an hour and a half away in the big city doing stuff for school- had to scramble to get out of my training and on the road back home. We also had to figure out what to do with the kids, which is how we found out that even though we don’t have a ton of friends, the ones we do have are worth their weight in gold. Between all of them we got the kids taken care of so that I could go be with her in the hospital. 

So, here we are, on the L&D floor, surrounded by babies while our own is still baking. She’s doing better this morning but the doc still says she’ll be here another night. Breathing treatments, IV antibiotics, and other meds have all helped her to sound less like Darth Vader when she breathes. She’s doing her best to rest while she’s here, though it can be hard with all the hospital staff in and out constantly. 

The good news in all this is, Shiloh really is doing fine. She’s having fun playing hide and seek with the nurses when they come in periodically to check her heart rate, and she keeps kicking both the fetal doppler and the big jug of water mama keeps trying to rest on her belly while she drinks it. Silly baby!
Love and good thoughts appreciated. Hopefully Wifey feels better soon! 

 

4 responses to “The Labor and Delivery Tour We Didn’t Mean to Take

  1. I’m glad everything is ok! Hopefully she’ll be home soon! And at least you can cancel that tour now…LOL! Sending healing energy and wishes for a speedy recovery.

  2. pepibebe says:

    Whoa that would have been a bit worrying. Good to hear it’s all under control now.

  3. twoimmas says:

    I’m so glad everything is okay! Sending you prayers of healing, ru’fuah shlomecha!

  4. lesbemums says:

    Gosh!! That was scary! I’m glad everything is ok – she’s in the best place. X

Leave a Reply

