lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

I think I’ll go for a walk outside now, the summer sun’s callin’ my name…

on May 3, 2015

Of course, it isn’t quite summer yet but the sun is shining, the temperatures are rising, and so, correspondingly, are my spirits. There’s something so alive about summer, about the grass growing and the sun shining and the warmth on your skin after so many days of dreary cold winter snows and spring rains. I feel the urge to be outside all the time now, have visions of camping and hikes and outdoor BBQs, long to lounge and sun myself like a lazy iguana on a hot stone. All things outdoors are calling me!

They’re calling Pax, too. Nearly every day, the first thing he says when I pick him up at daycare is “I go outside? Out?” When we’re at home he will often go get his shoes on of his own accord (usually mismatched and on the wrong feet) and come find us and say “I ready! I go outside!” (Sadly, time of day doesn’t seem to trouble him and he will happily demand to go outside at 6am on a Saturday when mommy hasn’t even had a single cup of coffee yet). He loves trips to the park, going outside to play with bubbles, wheeling his tricycle, balance cycle, and all his other wheeled items around the yard, playing with his water table, and just plain ‘ole exploring the backyard. He will play for hours at a time and usually we end up going inside because moms are tired or because he isn’t listening and is running into the neighbors’ yards, rather than because he is tired of being outside. In fact, he usually runs the OPPOSITE direction when we call to him to try to get him to come in! In a few weeks when the weather warms up we’ll blow up the backyard wading pool we bought and then we really won’t ever be able to get him inside.

Summer is only just beginning and I am so excited to take full advantage of it. Yes it will be busy, what with my wife being in her third trimester (!!!) and me finishing up nursing school and all, but not so busy that we can’t get in a lot of sunshine and happy times outdoors. I can’t wait for summer!

   
       

3 responses to “I think I’ll go for a walk outside now, the summer sun’s callin’ my name…

  1. We’ve been spending the weekend outdoors too as well as every warm evening after daycare. Thank goodness warm weather has FINALLY arrived!

  2. Lindsay says:

    We have been spending EVERY possible minute outdoors on evenings & weekends. Evie loves it just as much as Pax does. Makes me wish we lived somewhere where it was nice like this year-round!

  3. Outside, after this ridiculous winter is AMAZING! Our oldest wants to come inside and we are like, “Moms aren’t ready honey…ride your scooter a little longer!” It’s great when they want to be outside, but not so great when they run away! LOL

Leave a Reply

