lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

In sickness and in health… but mostly, lately, in sickness.

on February 16, 2015

First off, before I get into this new post, I wanted to take a moment to thank each and every one of you who took a moment to comment on my last post. No, the shouting, the NO!s, and the throwing of food hasn’t magically gone away in a week (tonight it was throwing fried rice at the Hibachi grill restaurant when we dared go out to eat); however, knowing you all are right there with me, dealing with your own tiny terrorists and scraping food off the ground- well, it gives me a sense of community and solidarity, and those of you who commented that you’ve been there and survived it give me a sense of hope that surely I can as well. So, thank you for that.Another glass of wine all around, solidarity sisters, ya-ya, and all that good stuff. We soldier on.

The current issue at hand (beyond general toddler behavior) is illness. I don’t know about your family, but cold and flu season has been particularly rough on my little household this year. At one point, three out of the four of us were on antibiotics simultaneously. There was strep (the kids and my wife). There was (and is) a bad cold with a bad cough that makes the cougher sound like they’re dying and makes everyone else not want to be within 100 feet of them… daycares and schools included (kids and my wife). There was also a milder, just-stuffy-no-cough version (me, thank everything). There has been throw up (my absolute worst mom fail. I just can’t even deal.). There was an untreated, 3 week sinus infection (wife… after I told her to go to the doctor’s a million times). There was lice (Thing One. And also, please kill me.). There was ear pain possibly related to antibiotic resistant bacteria (still waiting this one out, please please don’t let it be antibiotic resistant). And there was rotavirus and explosive diarrhea in a toddler who was supposed to be immune, but wasn’t (Pax).

What. the. crap.

All of this has been within the past month. I alone have magically remained major-illness free (totally just jinxed myself) but it has been crazy around here. I truly cannot remember a worse cold and flu season for our family. The realization of how ridiculous this sick season has become hit me one night last week as I was standing around playing pharmacist and dosing out evening medicines- and I was dosing out thirteen or fourteen different medicines to my THREE sick family members! It was completely insane. I handed my daughter one cup of 10 mL of one thing, and then immediately refilled it with 10mL of something else, and then there was a pill, and ear drops… and it went on like that, for each family member. At this point in time, I’m pretty sure we should just buy stock in Walg.reens. It’d be cheaper than all the cold medicine we’ve gone through at the very least.

Anyways. I am in pretty good spirits in spite of all of this (but then, it is easy to be in good spirits when you are not the one sick. Shorty definitely has a different outlook on life right now). I just wish, for my family’s sake and sanity, that the illnesses would cut the crap and give us a break for a second. You know?

Spring and summer cannot come soon enough. Bring on the warm, sunny days! I’m ready. I’m ready for it all.

How is cold and flu season treating you?

5 responses to “In sickness and in health… but mostly, lately, in sickness.

  1. A.S. says:

    Oh Mama… I so hear you on the severity of this flu season. I’ve heard from many that this year has been awful. Yours sounds particularly rough, though. Maybe you are able to stay sane because you recognize just how ridiculous the situation is? Either way, I bet it feels good for one of you to be able to keep perspective! After all, life never gets any less stressful, so being able to maintain calm despite the stress is the ultimate skill. You’re doing a great job, mama!

  2. DeCaf says:

    We’re lucking out here in Casa de DeCaf. My job having very few coworkers plus my wife working from home, and not going to many large venues keeps us away from germs fairly well. That and I got vaccinated against the flu, which isn’t super effective this year, but it means for some of the strains my immune system knew they were coming and can trash them before they can get a foothold. 🙂

  3. Lindsay says:

    It’s not as bad as last year was (we were CONSTANTLY sick last year, seriously didn’t have more than a 24 hour period of health), but it’ still been pretty brutal for us.

    Evelyn had a swollen lymph node last week thanks to an ear infection, but upon first glance, the doctor thought it was mumps! I nearly died – she’s bee vaccinated! I was so relieved to hear it was “just” an ear infection (her 7th in a year’s time, poor kid).

    I hope you all get – and stay – healthy soon!

  4. Shannon says:

    Oh man we are in the thick of it over here! I am pretty sure the wife was the one who brought home the initial round. Then 4 days later toddler got it. He currently has that terrible cough but REFUSES any and all medicines. We have bought just about every brand and flavor Walgreens offers and nothing. Vics and humidifier have had to do for now. I started in with it just in time for our 3 day weekend. Luckily we had unseasonably warm weather this weekend and I opened up the doors and windows hoping to let some of the germs escape.

    I am hoping your family all get better soon. Nothing worse than a sick family 😦

  5. Rachael says:

    We just had our own bout of Rotovirus. Its awful! Sad to hear you have had to deal with it too! Hope everyone gets to feeling better soon!!

Leave a Reply

