lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Terrible Twos

on February 7, 2015

Less on the cheery pregnant side of things, and more on the shit-just-got-real side, I would like to paint you an accurate picture of my house lately:

There is always food on the floor.

Pax is probably somewhere screaming-again.

Everything is answered with “no,” and usually that no is more like a NOOOOO with a VERY LOUD SHOUTY VOICE.

And my dear, sweet, jolly, agreeable two-year-old toddler is nowhere to be found. Nowhere. We’ve looked.

You guys- We’ve officially entered the terrible twos. And I want out.

IMMEDIATELY. Like, yesterday.

IDoNotLikeThisRideLetMeOffRIGHTNOW!

We’ve are just so beaten down. Exhausted. Stressed. Daily life has seriously gotten so much harder and for once, none of it is financial or school/work-related. It’s all from toddler-parenting. I will admit it: it is not very fun here lately to be the parent of this boy of ours. I love this kid to death, I do. But holy mother of patience-testing, batman.

If you ask him to do something, he will generally run away or yell no.

He is grumpy almost all the time! He cries at the drop of a hat. He throws tantrums at the drop of a hat. He throws objects, in anger, at the drop of a hat! This volatile mood crap is one of the things that is hardest to deal with. Cranky, grumpy, unagreeable toddler parenting day-in and day-out is just exhausting. Mentally, emotionally, physically exhausting. And, I miss my boy. I miss him being happy and silly and playful all the time. Nowadays, we get glimpses but that’s about it. He will be happy one minute and upset about something small for the next thirty minutes. The sad/upset moods are way out of balance with the happy moods.

To add to our misery, we are having diaper difficulty. This will hopefully be resolved next weekend when we potty train his butt (whole ‘nuther post coming) but in the meantime: he takes off diapers. And then he pees on the floor/bed/whatever. So far attempts to stop this behavior have failed and Lord help us if said diaper was filled with not just pee. ‘Nuff said. You guys- this sucks.

We are just seriously so tired, there have been days when we look at each other and ask “and WHY are we doing this again?” Of course we don’t really mean it, but remembering our delayed-gratification reasons such as getting a new child to treasure, beautiful sibling relationships and all that good stuff, tend to pale in comparison to imagining that we will have to go through THIS alllllll over again. I just can’t even think about it.

Anyways. I would ask for prayers but I think what we actually need is wine. And lots of it. (For me, anyways). My poor wife went to bed crying tonight because Pax had been a terror all evening and then peed his bed right when he finally settled down… She needs sleep and relaxation. We could all (even Pax) use a hug.

I promise we usually manage better than this but today was a doozy on top of a streak of doozies we’ve been having. It’s not all Pax- we’ve been dealing with a lot of illness lately (both kids have strep, the week before that Pax had nonstop explosive diarrhea, Shorty has had a cold), Thing One came home with lice last week, and I have major exams this week in school that have been taking up my time with studying and taking me away from the family. On top of all of this we are ALSO dealing with Pax’s behavior changes, so it’s just a lot! Moms need a break.

This is pretty accurate here lately:

IMG_1518

Pray that our dear sweet toddler comes back soon. And send wine. Lots of wine.

10 responses to “Terrible Twos

  1. X says:

    Yikes! Sorry for the headaches!

    One thing that helped us (sort of unsolicited advice but rest assured I don’t feel qualified to really “advice” as much as throw out what worked over here). We use time outs here but K mostly seems unconcerned with them so we will often ask her to “try it again.” As in, she takes something and we put it back and remind her we ask and then tell her to try it again, praising her immensely if she does a better job the second time around.

  2. chachachaliz says:

    Fingers crossed this is a small phase for little Pax! Have you tried putting on his diaper backwards? It might be harder for him to take off till the potty training starts. Or just start potting training or pull ups now. Fits are no fun, Jude will be like that if he is really tired or hungry, or God forbid, both. We normally have to ignore him or put him in time out for it. Just don’t give in or it will get worse! It will all get better!

  3. Lindsay says:

    I find these awful phases are just that – phases. Evelyn is most difficult when she’s in a leap/development stage somehow. So at the end of this hellish period, your boy will have new skills! In the meantime, I send you peaceful thoughts. And wine. Lots of wine.

  4. Oh man, I’m not a mother to a toddler yet, but I’m the aunt and nanny to one and I totally get it. During that time nothing helps, sometimes wine does lol. Xo

  5. Ugh! That is all so much to handle. I’m often terrible at coping in those situations but make it through…it’s all you can do. Good luck and I hope it gets easier soon! (And good luck with potty).

  6. Michaela says:

    OMG, I can so totally relate to that. And I really think that boys are even harder to parent in this phase. Around here the phase lastet for about 2 years. *faint*

  7. Isa says:

    Yes to all of this. Always food on the floor. Angst like crazy. Ugh. I hear it gets better–I hope it does!

  8. nurse BiBi says:

    Haha we are finally getting the boys down before 10 pm and they are sleeping through the night…I feel ya sista!

  9. Rachael says:

    We are headed out of this stage and into the threes, which I hear are no better. Hooray. Just what I wanted to hear! Hang in there Mama, it should get a bit better – at least in spurts!

Leave a Reply

