lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

So, we told the world.

on January 2, 2015

But first we told our family on Christmas day. Which is, in fact, why this post is delayed, because I have a video of how we told them and the moment they found out, and my mom’s reaction is priceless…. but YouTube hates me, apparently, and in spite of many, many attempts it will not upload my video. So instead, I am left to (rather lamely, in comparison) tell you about it rather than showing you.   I got the effing thing to work, finally. Posted below.

So, first things first… It went well! I wrote a silly poem about a snowman mom (snowmom) who wants to build a family, so she builds a snowwife and snowbaby, and then they build another snowbaby (Pax) and they’re all very happy, and then finally they decide they want another snowbaby and Santa brings them their wish at Christmas time. It was very cheesy and silly [I am not a poet by any stretch of imagination], but it got the point across. We wrote the poem down on the back of some wrapping paper and had our family read the lines one by one, without unfolding them ahead of time. Their reaction was priceless (minus my dad, who was pretty nonplussed. But he’s always that way, lol)

Thing One got it right away as well, but her only reaction was to threaten us: “It better be a girl, moms. Or else.” [what, exactly, “or else” entails is unknown to me].

We mailed my grandparents and aunts a Christmas card with a copy of the snowman poem and an ultrasound picture inside… they seemed happy when they called to tell us they had gotten the cards, and each wanted to know who was carrying. (That’s been our most popular question so far, plus the one person who asked if this was planned… and no, they weren’t kidding. We just stared at them until they realized.)

So that left the telling of the rest of the world… aka, facebook. A simple ultrasound picture and a onesie with some baby booties, and that job was done as well. So now we’re out and public! It feels good… I suck at keeping secrets anyways.

Below, our reveal video. Excuse the jammies and the mess (Christmas morning), the toddler with the train whistle (misguided stocking stuffer), and my father.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/bd0/19873708/files/2015/01/img_0963.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/bd0/19873708/files/2015/01/img_0838.jpg

16 responses to “So, we told the world.

  1. I love your mothers reaction! I’m sure it felt great to tell everyone!! Congrats!!

    • lezbemoms says:

      It felt wonderful to finally tell. I seriously suck at keeping secrets, so many people already knew and it was getting hard to tell who knew and who didn’t.

  2. Mom’s reaction priceless!

    • lezbemoms says:

      I know right! And this was the short version of the video- the long version (ten minutes, wasn’t gonna do that to you guys) shows her running around the house and crying over the ultrasound pic. 🙂

  3. Cute! Im about to post my moms reaction to our news also. Moms are so funny.

  4. Rachael says:

    Cute reveal! 🙂

  5. Lindsay says:

    The video made me grin from ear to ear! So sweet.

  6. nurse BiBi says:

    This is adorable! My dad had the same underwhelming response…But your mom more than made up for it!

Leave a Reply

