lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Progress

on December 13, 2014

It’s been a great week for our little family. Hope and optimism are in the air!

On a personally triumphant note, I finished my last final yesterday morning after two solid weeks of studying and stressing. It was such a relief to finish that final and to have kicked butt on everything I needed to kick butt on- I did great in all my classes this semester! In an accelerated 15 month program, with clinicals on the side and kids and family responsibilities, it wasn’t always easy but I am proud of myself for having made it work thus far. It helps to have an incredibly supportive wife, of course. I’m officially halfway through my program now! Halfway to being a nurse! Fates willing, I will be done shortly before Link makes his/her appearance.

Speaking of Link, also this past week, on Thursday, we had Shorty’s first OB appointment. Everything went great- the OB was the same one we’d used for her pre-pregnancy “check up” to make sure everything was good to go, and he was surprised and delighted to see us back so soon, pregnant! The OB kind of reminds me of Santa Claus, in that he is large and jolly and has a big white beard. Like Santa Claus, he had a present for us as well, in the form of our first ultrasound this Wednesday to “check the dates of the pregnancy” (wink wink, nudge nudge). We are both so excited… But nervous… But excited! Wednesday can’t get here soon enough!

Finally, it is so. hard. To believe we are less than two weeks out from christmas. My parents arrive in a week and a half and I can’t wait to see them- and surprise them. I miss them!

Happy mid-December, friends. It’s almost solstice, almost Christmas, and from where I’m standing (actually, lying on the couch because I’m on vacation!) life is looking pretty darn good.

One response to “Progress

  1. X says:

    Glad everything is going well! Happy holidays! 🙂

Leave a Reply

