lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

6 weeks

on December 10, 2014

…is still so incredibly early, I know. Nevertheless, it feels like a milestone. We’ve known about this baby for over two weeks now, though it feels more like two years. Seriously, how did I forget that first trimester goes by so slowly? Currently, baby is growing a nose, eyes, ears, and mouth! S/he is also busy forming hands and eyelids and is about 1/3″ long. Grow baby, grow!

We are in full swing of early first trimester symptoms. Nausea, vomiting, and oh yes- hormonal mood swings. Good lord, the mood swings. My normally calm and even-tempered wife is acting more like… well, me…. these days. I have to be careful where I tread because even a small disagreement can blow up on me and suddenly. I am the one with the Irish heritage and the temper in the house, but not lately…. Not lately.

It’s not just my perception- Shorty will back me up on this. In fact, we were discussing it in the car the other day (with the kids in the back seat) and she blurts out “Oh yeah, I am a total witch when I’m pregnant!” After a moment of shocked silence, we hear Thing One from the back seat: “Wait. You’re PREGNANT?!?!?!?!”

In that moment, we had a choice: admit the truth earlier than we were ready, and in doing so probably lose all hope of a “Christmas surprise” (believe it or not this kid has a bigger mouth than her moms), or lie and smooth it over and hope she believed us. We totally lied. And she totally believed it. Guilt? Yes. Christmas morning surprise and not having to worry about Thing One knowing way too soon: still intact.

In addition to forgetting that trimester one is actually 44,830,750 weeks long, I also forgot how worrying it can be. I think I am worrying more than Shorty, but both of us have had our worry moments. We set little milestones in our head for when we will start to feel more comfortable- first six weeks, then tomorrow’s first prenatal appointment, 8 weeks, 11 weeks… But the truth is we won’t be comfortable until we have left first trimester behind… If then. I think my worrying is facilitated by the fact that I am not the one pregnant, I can’t feel the changes happening in my body, and I also can’t feel things going along in a normal, non-complicated pregnant way. This is new for me and I am trying to adjust and tone it down… But I worry. Just have to have faith, I suppose.

Anyways. We’re going to start doing weekly bump pics like we did with Pax. I promise as the bump gets bigger, my artwork will get better. šŸ˜‰

IMG_0469.PNG

IMG_0468.JPG

3 responses to “6 weeks

  1. Curious B says:

    Woohoo for the appt tomorrow! And for photos, love them

  2. Lindsay says:

    The miracle of life never ceases to amaze me. That two cells come together to divide and multiply and create a human in just several short (but long-feeling) months is truly amazing.

    I can’t wait to hear how Thing 1 responds to the christmas surprise!

  3. Rachael says:

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to hear about the actual Christmas surprise and how that goes! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

