lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Happy Thanksgiving, friends

on November 27, 2014

I’m up at 5am and the house is quiet, quiet, quiet. The silence lends itself to reflection and reflection makes me realize how truly thankful I am for all in my life.

I am so lucky to have my amazing wife. She loves me, treats me right, laughs with me and supports me in all ways. I couldn’t imagine life without her.

I’m so lucky to have my kids. I’m thankful they are healthy and happy. They make me smile daily, both in their relationship and the ways they play together, and separately in their own small achievements each day. I love them so much and aside from my wife, they are my whole world.

I’m so thankful that Shorty got the job she did back in February. After years of mulling a possible application to this job, finally springing for it last August, and waiting/jumping through application hoops August-February, it seemed like the job had fallen through our fingers when out of the blue, a phone call. THE phone call. Life has gotten so much better since she took this job and most importantly, she’s so much happier. For that I will always be thankful.

I’m also thankful (and lucky) that, when we realized her new job meant a probable move to a new city (town, actually…. small, small town), I was able to scramble and literally last minute get together everything I needed to apply for the nursing program at the university in the new town. I got my application materials in last minute, haphazardly enrolled in my last two prerequisites for the school (and thanked my lucky stars they allowed for concurrent enrollment), dotted my i’s and crossed my t’s, and took a leap of faith when we moved to the small town anyways, before we had heard back from my school, figuring I could always commute back to the big university in our old town if I had to. Thank everything I didn’t have to and I’m so glad that fate forced me to consider this school over the one I was going to- this school has the same accelerated program but at a public-school tuition rate, rather than the private school sky-high tuition we were preparing to pay!

Finally, I am completely, totally, utterly over-the-moon thankful at our recent TTC success. My lovely wife is undeniably pregnant (lots of symptoms we can chat about later), and every time I look at her I just want to burst with happiness. It’s so hard to believe that our long-dreamed-of Link baby is on his/her way to us. It’s unreal that Link took the first go-round, and that the Stars seemingly aligned to give us the perfect timing with this baby. I can’t wait to tell our families on Christmas morning (more on this later, as well) and, after that, the whole world! I can’t wait for Link to be here. I have visions of three children playing together on Christmas mornings future, of Pax and Link waiting for the school bus together and running roly-poly pell-mell through the house, of loudness and chaos and the exponentially messy daily lives and love that will come with being a family of five instead of a family of four. I am so excited and so, so thankful that this baby chose now to come to us. Grow Link, grow… You are already loved.

Happy thanksgiving, friends. I hope you all have as much or more to be thankful for than I do.

IMG_5793.JPG

IMG_5846.JPG

IMG_5784.JPG

IMG_5832.JPG

IMG_5478.JPG

IMG_5653.JPG

IMG_5474.JPG

IMG_5574.JPG

IMG_0190.JPG

Leave a Reply

