lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Exhaustion

on August 31, 2014

So, I’ve been a “single parent” for the past two weeks while Shorty is away on her work trip. I have one more week to go. I was also a “single parent” for the week and a half we were in San Die.go, with only a week in between stints in which I had Shorty as my coparent by my side. So needless to say, I am feeling a little bit of fatigue surrounding being the only adult solely responsible for my children!

Yes, others have been around to help- my mother comes to mind- but it’s not the same as having my wife because, at the end of the day, my mom can choose to say “nope, don’t feel like changing that, your turn” or “oh hey, I’m tired, I’m going to go take a nap.” She and other helpers are not constantly on duty as I am, so it’s different, plus she’s gone home now so I’m alone again anyways.

Today was particularly trying because… well, it just was. The day started with my son climbing my cabinets and pulling down one of my favorite candle-lamps, shattering it into a million tiny pieces. It then proceeded with red raspberries rubbed into white carpets, pots and pans and silverware strewn everywhere, and general chaos. We decided to go to the Children’s Museum here to get out of the house and go somewhere specifically designed FOR children- but still nope. He ran away from me many many times, fell into a bubble pit with his shoes on (twice), and threw a plastic play stool at a little girl a bit younger at him, knocking her completely on her patootie (though to be fair I’m pretty sure that one was an accident). Home for more chaos until bedtime and this mama is EXHAUSTED.

I’ve been feeling like I’ve been coping pretty well most of this time, up until today. The house has been pretty clean, kids have been fed, laundry has been done, homework has been done, and dishes put away… but today was overwhelming and a good reminder of WHY it is nice to have my coparent by my side. Yes, I CAN do it by myself but I prefer not to! Everything is easier and more fun with my wife by my side- I can laugh at kid messes, have someone to talk with, and someone to trade off duties with. In short, I have the partner I married, had children with, and have come to rely on. Plus, I just miss my wife. One more week!

*apology to single parents (by choice or otherwise) for my whining. It is not my purpose to belittle your experience with my whining. I admire you!

4 responses to “Exhaustion

  1. meridith says:

    In my very limited experience with single parenting I’ve come to realize that single parents are badass. They are amazing. I want to die of exhaustion after two days. I’m glad she’s coming home soon!!!

  2. Lindsay says:

    Single parenting is exhausting in ways I didn’t know it could be, that’s for sure. But I often say that for a parent who is used to having help and then suddenly not have it…it’s harder. I’ve never had help in my days of parenthood, not even family nearby, so I haven’t a clue what I’m missing! So I think when you know what you’re missing, it’s harder.

  3. Rachael says:

    Hope it gets less exhausting for you soon!

Leave a Reply

