lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

First Day of Daycare

on January 9, 2014

So, today was the kids’ first day of their new daycare.

Neither one of them had a good day. =( Thing One apparently had an attitude with the daycare lady when she told her to leave Paxton alone a few times. In all fairness she was trying to be helpful to get him to calm down from being fussy, but instead was getting in the way. The daycare lady told her nicely to stop and let her handle it and Thing One sighed loudly and was basically rude with a ‘tude.  NOT the first day impression we were trying to make.

 

Pax did not stop crying all day, basically. 😦 I didn’t know this until after work because no cell phones are allowed at work (she can get ahold of us in emergencies still though).  Apparently he melted down all day looking for us, only took a forty minute nap when he’s been up since 6am (part of the problem, I’m sure) and only had maybe one good hour of playfulness in the entire 9 hour day.  My poor poor baby. I got there and he was crying- he quickly reached for me and clung to me, wrapping his little arms around my neck and cuddling tight. I cried. I just hate this situation so much- we’re both used to being together all day and he clearly still wants and needs me, yet I have no choice but to leave him there. I am already dreading tomorrow and just praying that everything goes smoother tomorrow and that he starts to adjust quickly.


4 responses to “First Day of Daycare

  1. I’m so sorry it did not start well. I really help tomorrow goes more smoothly. We are having challenges with the early wake ups for Carter. He has to wake up over an hour earlier than he naturally would which makes him much crankier.

  2. Rachael says:

    Darn! Hope things go better tomorrow! 🙂 HUGS

  3. Lindsay says:

    Oh my god, tears were welling in my eyes reading this. I really hope your subsequent days were better. Poor baby and poor you!!

  4. Ashley Dano says:

    Ohh…daycare in the beginning is so, so hard. Our boy is 10 months now and has been in daycare since about 5 months and it is SO much better now. He actually gets excited when we pull up and kicks his legs and squeals. It totally does get better. Do you get a sense that it’s just him having trouble adjusting and not the place? We switched daycares in the beginning because I found out quickly that the first place we chose wasn’t as nurturing and attentive as we wanted. We did find an amazing place in the end and his teachers are like family now.

    I’m so sorry you’re going through this….such a tough transition. Just keep telling yourself it will get better!

Leave a comment