lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Things I love about 12 months/one!

on October 20, 2013

Every age this boy has been has been amazing and awesome, but I really think one is my favorite age so far. There’s just so much to love!

-I love how he “begs” for food. If he is in the room and you sit down to eat, he will get himself over to you ASAP, pull himself up right next to you, and open his mouth. Just like a baby bird begging for food! If Shorty and I are both eating at the same time on different sides of the room, he will beg a bite from one of us and then chew it while he makes his way over to the other… and back and forth and back and forth.

-How he calls us mama! Granted, he’s been doing this for awhile, but it’s much more directed now. He got stuck atop a chair tonight and after trying unsuccessfully to free himself, he looked around the room, made eye contact with Shorty, and yelled “MAMAMAMAMA” until she got up and came to his rescue. Very cute and there was absolutely no doubt that he was calling for his mama to help him!

-I love his unsteady walking feet. He is still only toddling for 10-15 steps at a time and then boom! something gets tangled and he’s down. He never cries though (unless he hits his head), just crawls over to the nearest tall object with dogged determination, pulls himself back up, and starts off toddling again. Super cute.

-I love how he is still a baby, yet also a toddler. He can enjoy a park now: climbing the steps, sliding down slides, crawling through tunnels (obviously with close supervision). He can pretty much eat anything now, and he drinks out of sippy cups with straws. But he is also still a baby- he cuddles and cries and still has some remnants of younger-Pax.

-I love our evening nursing session. We still nurse morning, evening, and occasionally midafternoon, but it is the prebedtime nurse I love the most. He cuddles in and looks up at me with such trusting eyes. Love him.

-I love his budding independence. He is more and more okay with independent play, with being left in the playroom or his room for brief periods while Mamas work on other things. He is also more and more interested in feeding himself- often, if we put something in his mouth, he will pull it back out, examine it, and then put it back in himself. Or, he’ll just try to grab it right off the bat- problematic when it’s something messy we’d rather he not grab!

-I love his love of books. He LOVES to look at and read books, to himself or with a mama. Oftentimes he will sit down amongst a pile of books and flip through the pages all by himself (often with the book upside down). His favorite book is probably the baby einstein 100 first words book we have and whenever I see him with it, I sit down with him and point, name, and count objects out loud for him. He loves it and watches everything I point at with rapt attention.

-I love his relationship with his mama right now. Because I am his primary caregiver and I also nurse him, he has had a bias towards me his whole life. However, more and more, Pax is expressing his affection and love for his Mama and I love seeing that. More and more, they are developing their own relationship, complete with their own routines and playgames. One of their gigs right now is that Shorty will lie down on the floor, and Pax will see her and immediately toddle over ASAP and “tackle” her. And then they will play wrestle with much shrieking and giggling and rolling about. It’s pretty damn cute. Also, whenever she gets home in the afternoon and walks in the door, he gets a huge grin and his eyes light up and he calls out MAMAMA until she picks him up. I also think he has been asking for her when she’s gone, because there have been a couple times where he has asked me “mamama?” and when I pick him up, he continues asking… clearly not looking for me. Pretty neat!

-He gives hugs now! If you pick him up and ask him for a hug, he will wrap his arms around your neck and squeeze. Freakin’ adorable and best. thing. ever!

-I love how he plays now. He loves to climb our step 2 climbers and is fascinated by anything with wheels. That means that his v-tech airplane set, his talking firetruck thingy, and his megabloks schoolbus are just about his favorite toys ever right now. He has also started to play with a babydoll of his sister’s- cuddling it, hugging it, and dragging it around with him. So adorable!

-He is sleeping more and more at night. Occasionally, he will sleep through the night until about 530, but even when he doesn’t he’s only getting up once usually. I know a lot of people’s babies are sleeping through the night by now but ours is not and never has, and to us, this is progress. So I’ll take it!

I just love this age. I know there is a huge difference between a newly-one-year-old and an-almost-two-year-old-one-year-old so I look forward to savoring who he is now, and seeing the differences in the future between now, 18mos, and almost two!

20131020-222416.jpg

20131020-222430.jpg

20131020-222446.jpg

20131020-222506.jpg

20131020-222527.jpg

20131020-222602.jpg

20131020-222620.jpg

20131020-222646.jpg

20131020-222715.jpg

20131020-222751.jpg

20131020-222812.jpg

One response to “Things I love about 12 months/one!

  1. OH MY GOODNESS! THE SHREK HORNS!

    Love everything about this post, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

