lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

FIRST STEPS! And…

on September 29, 2013

Pax took his first steps tonight! I can’t help but be happy that they were towards me. He was cruising on a chair and then he let go and took two steps towards my outstretched hands. YAAAY! He then took his second set of first steps towards his Mama, who cheated and enticed him with a pudding cup. 😉 We got the second set of first steps on video, below:

I can’t believe that this particular milestone has been accomplished, just eleven days before his first birthday. So happy that both of his moms were there to see it though- after about a month of each of us leaving instructions to “push him over” if he looked like he was going to take those steps while we weren’t there. Luckily it never came to that! 😉

Second item of business today- this first wonky postpartum cycle of mine. Still no period, but here’s what’s going on:

  • First +OPK CD11
  • Entered luteal phase
  • spotting 7DPO-10DPO
  • Nothing since. Negative HPTs (last one I took was about 15DPO).
  • Not temping anymore- too many night wakings with babies to get accurate temps.

So I started to wonder about that spotting. I had read that the first few postpartum cycles a woman has are infamous for having very short luteal phases, so when I started to spot at 7DPO I had thought it was the beginning of my period and I had been the victim of a short LP. When actual BLOOD never appeared, just dark brown spotting, I wasn’t sure what to think and the cycle rolled on… CD40 today.

Still trying to figure out what was going on with my cycle, I began wondering if those 4 days of dark brown light spotting were, in fact, some sort of shoddy quasi-period and the start of a new cycle. That would make me CD22, not CD40 as previously supposed. It would also mean I would be due to ovulate again, so today I started taking OPKs again, thinking that even if this was a second cycle it would still be to late to catch ovulation.  However, I immediately got these two tests:

Top is from 1pm, bottom is from 8pm

Top is from 1pm, bottom is from 8pm

I can’t decide if they’re positive or just almost-positive. Either way, they seem like confirmation of my theory that I am, in fact, on my second PP cycle, though it seems odd that the day I start testing is the day I get a +OPK… just a weird coincidence?

Like I talked about in my last post, I have ordered and started taking Vitex, in order to help regulate my cycles and elongate my LP. I’ve read that vitex is a type of natural clomid, so hopefully it will help.

Do you guys have any thoughts on this?  Do the tests seem positive and does my theory seem plausible? I would definitely appreciate input here.

3 responses to “FIRST STEPS! And…

  1. AndiePants says:

    Looks damn close to a positive from here. . .

  2. zunzunbobo says:

    I took vitex for several months just as a boost when we were trying to make the zunzun. I don’t know about your OPKs or your wonky cycle, but I will say that it took maybe four cycles after my post-partum periods started back up (at 7 months out, like Isa said: nursing be damned!) to get anything that resembled normal for me. Even still, nursing at 22 months, my cycles aren’t back to clockwork. I seem to have a slightly later ovulation, slightly shorter LP and also just slightly off-kilter cycle; even my actually bleeding is different, as i’m prone to fewer cramps and slightly shorter periods. I’ve just started back up with vitex and b-vitamin complex in the hopes that mine will even out…because I guess we probably will see about el segundo in the new year?

    not sure that’s any help at all, but at least a little solidarity!

  3. Good Luck with getting cycles regulated!

Leave a Reply

