lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Evap or BFP?

on September 12, 2013

This is why one should never walk away from a test.

I took one this afternoon- just a cheapie, just to get it out of my system. Wasn’t expecting anything and indeed, as I watched the test develop for about a minute, there was nothing.

I thought “okay,” and walked away. An hour later I had to pee again and happened to glance at the test still sitting there next to the toilet… And wouldn’t you know it, there was a faint, faint, faaaaaaiiiint line there. FAINT. And colored.

But of course, it was outside the testing window, so now I have no clue as to whether this is a true BFP or a cruel, cruel EVAP.

What do you think? Any at home tried-and-true methods for telling them apart? I’m going crazy over here! Either way is fine (obviously one way is more fine than the other) but limbo land is not a place I like to visit.

Opinions?

20130912-162526.jpg

5 responses to “Evap or BFP?

  1. Lindsay says:

    The line doesn’t look “complete” to me. See how it’s off to one side there, darker on one side? That looks like an evap line. That’s not to say that you won’t see a positive next time…you might and I hope SO MUCH that you do. But I would NOT trust that particular test.

    Throw them away and and before you do – douse them in water to avoid doing this. I’ve done it to myself so many times and got excited over two false positives. Save yourself the heartache!

  2. SotOhana says:

    Ditto to what Lindsey said. I did that once too and it was so hard. I am crossing everything that your next test comes up totally positive right away.

  3. nurse BiBi says:

    I gotta play the devil’s advocate here…I used those same test and they have the same hcg sensitivity as the “early” detection ones. This test was the first positive I had-even though the others were blank. It wasn’t until a whole day later I started seeing bfp’s on other ones. Keeping my fingers crossed for you! (You can see my test on “all willy nilly” post from April)

  4. I hate to say it, but we had a couple of experiences with evaporation lines and or wonky tests. I think I’d wait a day or two and test again.

    Did you test today, for example? Are you testing tomorrow?

    Although to be totally honest, the first sentence of this post kind of amuses me. I was so sure that the cycle that got me knocked up with Teeny hadn’t worked that I walked away from the test. PB was the one who wandered in a couple of minutes later and saw the line.

Leave a Reply

