lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Seeking Advice on Reflux

on November 18, 2012

So I had a picture post planned for tonight but that will have to wait, as I’d really like to get ya’lls advice on some things.

We think Pax has reflux and silent reflux.  We haven’t taken him yet to the Dr’s for it (appointment on Tuesday) since we only recently realized this is what it could be, but… The poor boy spits up a loooot (a lot, a lot, a lot) and at this point I’m not even sure it can be termed “spit up,” since the quantities that come out are certainly more than just a tiny dribble and more akin to a raging waterfall.  I’m not even sure he’s keeping anything down, but he seems to be gaining weight (in fact, he’s a chubby boy) so he must be keeping some down.  He spits up even at night in his sleep, and I have woken up several times to him choking on his own vomit. Scares me to death.

He will also randomly burst out crying in a scream that sounds like “I’m-in-pain.” Sometimes, this scream is followed by throw up, othertimes not, but it is always followed by more fussing even when we previously had a calm, happy boy.  He in general is very grumpy these days and seems like something is hurting him.  Also, he has a rash all over his face that we at first thought was baby acne, but it has spread and no longer resembles anything like baby milk bumps, but instead seems like an allergen rash maybe? It’s ALLLL over his face and some on his scalp, ears, chin as well.  I’ve been putting breastmilk on it, as that was suggested as a remedy when we thought it was acne, but that doesn’t seem to be working and he looks worse than a teenage boy with pizza-face. 😦

We’ve done some googling on reflux and everything I’ve read says to keep him upright 30 minutes after every feeding? So we tried that today… he still spat up just as much as normal, which didn’t surprise me because usually he is at the very least semi-inclined after feeding as he lounges on my chest as I’m sitting upright in the chair, and he still throws up then, too.

I also read that cutting out dairy can be helpful- I’m going to try this starting tomorrow, though honestly I have no idea what there is in this house to eat that’s not got dairy in it! It seems like everything does. =( If anyone has any nondairy meal or menu tips to share, those would be appreciated!

I also read that having them sleep slightly elevated can help, and we do have a rock n play sleeper that seems like it would be perfect for that, until I read something scary about how those sleepers can cause flat head in babies who sleep in them too much?! Doesn’t seem like a very good long term sleep solution… but the mattress on our cosleeper seems too flimsy to prop up or elevate, so clearly, something needs to be done as I would very much like my child to stop choking on his own barf in the middle of the night.

Overall, we’re just sad that our boy is in pain and concerned about how to fix it. We just want him to feel good, you know? ‘Cause look at that beautiful face… just want him happy and healthy!

4 responses to “Seeking Advice on Reflux

  1. lesboparentstobe says:

    I’m not sure I have any advice, but I’ve been there. Buggie was never officially diagnosed w reflux, but she spit up/threw up ALL the time for the first 4-5 months. It was awful. We tried to keep her propped up after nursing but eventually that just wasn’t practical and I wasn’t sure it helped too much. I tried cutting out dairy and eggs, but again I’m not sure it helped (although it turns out she’s allergic to eggs now and I always felt like she hated it when I ate eggs). Eventually she grew out of it, but it was ROUGH for awhile. She also used to throw up when she was teething, although she doesn’t do that anymore. I even went so far as to buy one of these http://tuckersling.com/ but it was a monstrosity and we never used it. Sorry I have nothing useful to say, but hang in there. You’ll get threw it!

  2. Kirsten says:

    Our LC suggests putting a ream of paper under both legs of one side of the crib so the mattress doesn’t move but you still get an elevated angle. Maybe that could work on your co-sleeper? Have you talked to an LC? Good luck!

  3. Em says:

    I’ve heard really good things about swing sleeping for babies with reflux although I don’t have any personal experience with it. It might be worth checking out. Hope your little guy starts feeling better soon!

  4. Michele says:

    My 4th son had reflux, and he seemed to get relief from sitting upright after nursing and sleeping in his infant car seat until he was a bit older, about 4 months, when I elevated the head of his crib. He’s 14 now so this was before the medicine was around for infants. I didn’t do much changing of my diet, as I’d given up all the good stuff prior like coffee, and didn’t go back until I had baby 5 and baby six:) Good luck Mommas:)
    Michele

Leave a Reply

