lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

not woe-is-me, but…

on October 4, 2012

I will say that kids really don’t have good timing. And when I say “kids,” I mean T1 in particular.  Why?
Sweet Child decided that NOW, of all times, is the best time to come down with The Plague- aka, strep throat.  Yep. She woke up screaming in the middle of the night Wednesday night, crying that her throat hurt.  A peek inside revealed two VERY swollen tonsils and a highly miserable seven year old. Poor thing. Today is day two of The Sick, and she is only *slightly* better- the doctor reassures us it should be better soon, but that’s very little comfort when your seven year old sounds like a lumberjack anytime she falls asleep because she can’t breathe properly and wakes up screaming in pain because her throat hurts.  Poor baby.  I feel so bad for her.  She’s missed the past two days of school and will be missing tomorrow, too.  Hopefully she gets over this soon!

 

I also know I don’t have to tell you guys that the timing for this could NOT be worse. I am so so worried that I am going to get it, or Shorty will, or the baby, or that I will go into labor with a very sick child on our hands.  I never ever pictured the possibility that I would be SICK and in labor.  I feel like being in labor is going to be hard enough, but hopefully at least doable… but being SICK and in labor? Really makes me worried I wouldn’t be able to do it, period, or not be able to do it at home without medications anyways.  The other possibility is that Shorty as my birth partner might be sick and not at 100%, and therefore not able to be there fully for me. Ugh.  We’re not sick YET (knock on wood) and you can bet that I’ve been sanitizing the crap out of every surface in sight to try to prevent The Sick from spreading… but there’s only so much I can do!  I’m also worried because T1 is supposed to be going to a friends’ house while I’m in labor, and said friend has small kids- not sure if her small healthy kids and our kid with strep are compatible.  😦

 

So yeah, just a little added stress there.

 

Also, we missed our midwife appointment checkup yesterday because they had a birth they had to go to.  They were available to reschedule today, but being that I was home with Little Miss Plague and the baby alone… we had to take the next available appointment, which is Tuesday.  We might not make it to Tuesday, so we could be done with our midwife appointments. Guess we’ll see.  I did tell them though, that neither Shorty or I are comfortable going over the 42 week mark without a biophysical profile to make sure Baby Boy is still doing okay.  If we make it to Tuesday, that will be 41w5d and coming veeeeeery close to that cutoff. So, she said she would schedule us for a profile if we make it that far. Guess we’ll see on that, too!

3 responses to “not woe-is-me, but…

  1. awww. I hope that the strep throat doesn’t spread to anyone else in the house. That would be really rough to be laboring when you already feel crappy. I hope little man makes his appearance over the weekend!

  2. Oh dear. Hopefully the antibiotics kick in soon for T1, and nobody else gets sick. Fingers crossed for you guys!

  3. C Storm says:

    Thinking of you! Sending best hopes…

Leave a Reply

