lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

No More Woe-Is-Me!

on October 3, 2012

Inspired by the positivity of this mama’s post, I am taking the woe-is-me-for-being-overdue attitude I’ve been sporting and giving it a firm kick out the front door. I think a little bit of impatience is excusable but there’s so much good stuff about life too, to focus on.
For instance, things I am currently loving include:

  • Still being able to feel Mr. Man kicking away in there, at will. I may never feel this feeling again and it is probably the most special thing I’ve ever experienced.  I’ll miss it when it’s gone (even as I’ll be completely enamored with being able to MEET the little being who’s been doing all the kicking!)
  • This fall weather. I lovelovelovelovelove fall… it’s my favorite season by far and I would happily squish all the other seasons into a little tiny corner of the year in order to make fall last so much longer than it does.  I took a walk, in the rainy drippy lovely wetness the other day, solo, and spent some quiet time just thinking and enjoying all the harvest and halloween decorations and the pretty, showy trees with their colorful leaf displays. It was soul-filling, lovely quiet time- the kind that fall always inspires.
  • T1 and how well she is doing in school! Because, you guys, she is doing amazing.  We held her back at the end of last year, due to maturity issues and her just not “getting it,” and that decision could have totally bitten us in the ass… but it hasn’t.  Instead, she is thriving. All the material seems to be finally clicking in her brain, and she is blossoming right before our eyes.  She’s gotten her confidence back, she’s mature enough to sit through her homework and work through it, and I think she’s really regaining her love of school- which was lost last year in the struggle of homework and understanding material she just wasn’t ready for.  We are so so proud of her, and happy that such a huge decision seems to have been the right one.
  • Baking! This one kind of goes along with fall, but I always seem to be in the baking mood at this time of year.  Just this week I’ve baked a chocolate cake, pumpkin muffins, and pumpkin bread.  I’ve got my eye on a few cookie recipes and maybe some banana nut streusel cake.  MMMMMMmmmm baking!
  • Baby Girl.  This little one… my heart.  She completely deserves her own post (and I will update you all, soon) but my favorite things about her right now:

1. Her smiles

2. Her cooing

3. The way she snuggles into your chest and falls asleep

4. Her quiet attentiveness during bathtimes

5. Cloth-diapered baby butt!!!

So yes, we’re still waiting for Baby Boy to make his appearance… but in the meantime, there’s a lot to be happy and grateful for around here!

4 responses to “No More Woe-Is-Me!

  1. the kicks are what sustained me when i was overdue too. it’s such a special time, it’s almost bittersweet for it to have to end….

  2. allison-lee says:

    Glad to hear that so many things seem to be going well.
    Hopefully the newest little one will be here soon and able to enjoy them with you. 🙂

  3. Isa says:

    Yay for T1!! I’m so glad that she’s blossoming this year! 🙂

  4. X says:

    I’m so excited for you – I keep checking in to see if the day has come (okay, I’m sure that doesn’t help). I didn’t go over (and think I would have been quite antsy) but I am definitely pro-enjoying-it-while-it-lasts-as-much-as-possible. Everything changes when they make their big appearance into the world, in a good but bittersweet way.

Leave a Reply

