lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Small Update in Lieu of Big Update

on September 10, 2012

Hey guys- just wanted to pop in here today to give you a quick update. I don’t have the time or the energy to write that big post I told you about, but I promise I will.

I’ve been at home all week on bedrest (or “bedrest”- it’s not been possible to stay in bed all day and the midwives said I didn’t have to, anyways)- I honestly don’t know if it’s been working or not though.  My blood pressure has been high today (the only day we’ve checked it since the midwife appt) and I’ve had a headache all day, dizziness, visual floaters, and swelling.  No, I’m not looking forward to telling the midwives any of this tomorrow at our appointment… I don’t really want to know what they’re going to say.

My mom has been over-googling and calling me every few hours to check in, and she’s got every other relative on high alert too.  It’s slightly stressful, trying to reassure her with a headache pounding in the background and my poor wife stressed out besides.  More than that, I kinda hate being fussed over… I think I’m probably a pretty bad patient- I hate making a big deal out of anything, hate worrying people, hate being seen as anything less than at my 100%.  I know none of this is rational but this is the way I’ve always been. I’m the girl who will struggle out of anesthesia and into alertness as soon as humanly possible because the second I become aware that I am somewhat incapacitated, I want to do everything I can to appear as in control as possible.  Yes, the possible psychological analyses that could be done on that one statement alone are endless. I know.

So anyways. That’s where we’re at. Not much better, and with a whole lot of stuff going on besides. I’ll update on it soon. I promise. And hey… two weeks and two days until our due date. That’s the shining beacon in the middle of all of this. We’re so close!  Such a short period of time seems totally manageable, most of the time.

6 responses to “Small Update in Lieu of Big Update

  1. allison-lee says:

    Jen was induced at 38 weeks with The Bean (for different reasons, but still) and he was born super-healthy just a little wee (which was expected and the reason for induction). Hope you’re okay to wait for things to happen naturally, but even if that doesn’t happen, I expect you and the baby to fare well.

  2. Oh my goodness! You are going to have a baby soon!! I’m so excited and nervous for you. I hope that you have the birth that you are planning on. Being a bad patient is okay, it shows others that you’re not milking illness/injury for all that it is worth.

  3. zunzunbobo says:

    hang in there! take care of yourself and little guy, and let your others take a little care, too 😉 fingers crossed for you. the light is at the end of the tunnel!

  4. Almost there! Sending strength…

  5. I could have written that third paragraph myself. It makes me crazy that pregnancy has sidelined me as much as it has. Even though I watched others go through it, and knew it would be hard, it never occurred to me that I’d have to slow down! It is driving me crazy. Especially when I get winded and we are just out shopping. Sheesh!

    I hope that all goes well with your appointment. 🙂 I think we live in the same general area – if that’s right I hope that you are able to enjoy this weather! What pregnant woman wouldn’t have blown up like a balloon this summer?!?! Well, There is that one friend of mine who is due 9 days before me, never had any swelling and is still wearing heels but I’m pretty sure she’s a robot. 😛

  6. makingfamilyfromlove says:

    Hey! I just found your blog through LoveShackBaby and I am trying to get caught up! Would you mind sharing the password? 🙂

Leave a Reply

