lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Pre-E, Possibly.

on August 21, 2012

Well, today we paid an unplanned and unexpected visit to the midwife.

 

I got a headache around 10 that simply would. not. go. away… tried food, drink, and drugs, but nothing helped.  Also got some dizzy spells to go along with it and, since I work in a hospital, went ahead and had my blood pressure checked.  It’s been a steady 110/60 my entire pregnancy but today it was hovering around 140/86 (checked twice, ten minutes apart).  Decided to call the midwife, who wanted to see us so we went straight there.

 

When we got there, she checked for protein in my urine and luckily, found none. She also checked my BP again, which had gone down to the 130/80 range but which was still high (especially for me).  I wasn’t very swollen today although I have been most days , and by the time we got there my headache was still present but the dizziness had subsided.  All things taken into consideration, midwife said we are borderline pre-eclamptic, and that she really wants to focus on prevention and trying to bring the BP down again.  She told me I need to eat more albumin-containing foods (eggs, basically) and also said garlic pills can help?  We are not egg fans around here but we will do what we need to do- and also, they sell it in a powder form that we can just add to our meals/shakes and so I think we will probably be going that route.

 
Fingers crossed that we can manage this and that it does not become full-blown preeclampsia.  We have done so well up until now, this is the first real hiccup this pregnancy has seen.

 
The good news is, the baby is doing just fine (kicked their doppler away several times as they attempted to listen to his heartbeat!) and is still being a good baby and staying in the headdown position.  So, that’s good.

8 responses to “Pre-E, Possibly.

  1. allison-lee says:

    I hope that this was just a hiccup and that it doesn’t develop into pre-eclampsia. Take it easy and take care of yourself.

  2. I’m with allison-lee! Hoping it’s not going to be the real thing. I don’t like eggs either, I hope that I’m never required to eat them. Thank goodness you let me know there is a powder out there, just in case! ha ha. Yay for your kicking little man.

  3. The best of health to you my friend! Sending love your guys way! I say in moments like this, it’s time for french toast! Not sure if that meets the egg requirement, but it should count! 😉

  4. Roxxroxx says:

    I hope It isn’t the full shebang too. Take care, and get the egg/ egg powder in you! 🙂

  5. LaurieAnn says:

    Fingers crossed that this is nothing!

    I have to encourage my Bradley clients to eat two eggs a day… There are a lot of ways to sneak them in! Batter for pancakes or French toast, scrambled into soup, baked into something yummy, etc. As long as you’re ingesting them, it doesn’t matter how.. You don’t have to eat it as a fried / boiled / poached egg, it can be an ingredient in something delicious 🙂

    A diet high in protein can also keep Pre-e at bay. Beans, meat, cheese, etc. I encourage clients to eat as close to 100 grams of protein per day (based on a Harvard study of the relationship between a high protein diet and getting Pre-e).

    Thinking of you, Mama!

  6. X says:

    Hoping that this is just a little bump and that all goes well for you

  7. meridith says:

    Hang in there! I’ll be thinking of you!

  8. Isa says:

    Funny, i love eggs. i couldn’t get enough of them while pregnant! I hope this goes away quickly and doesn’t come back! And i hope that the swelling isn’t too bad–at least you can still wear flipflops if you need to!

Leave a Reply

