lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

On the eve of 34 weeks…

on August 15, 2012

I can’t believe we only have 6 weeks left!  Holy moly.  Plus, that wait time is (in my mind) being chopped into two halves since at 37 weeks, we have our midwife home visit and I am really excited about that!  It makes it seem so real and SO close… the next time we see the midwife, we will be full term! And since I’m off this weekend, work the next, and the next one after that is labor day weekend… time is gonna fly!

 
Another mini-milestone we have coming up? Our second meeting with our adoption lawyer!  We have officially started the process and there are a ton of freakin’ hoops to jump through.  Our first meeting was all about how the process works (like I said, hoops… including a home study :(), how much it’s going to cost (a whole freakin’ lot*! But as long as we file by December we’ll be eligible for the adoption tax credit refund), and what we needed to do next.  Our meeting next Friday is to sign power of attorneys and something else that gives Shorty legal rights/temporary custody of the baby while we wait for the second parent adoption to go through. I think we’re also going to be signing/prefilling out the paperwork for the actual adoption so that once the little one makes his appearance all we have to do is call her and have her file the paperwork, without having to go back into the office.  So we’re super excited for getting the process started and hopefully getting the whole mess behind us as soon as possible so that we can move on with our lives.**

 

Finally, because we just didn’t have enough STUFF, we went and bought MORE baby stuff last night.  It was all necessities, small stuff that got overlooked during baby showers and our bargain-buying and such… diaper pails (still need to get the liners), a few pacis, giant pads for me, some bassinet sheets for wee one… stuff like that.  Now the only thing we have left to get is our monitor (which I think I will buy tonight actually, since we have a gift card for it!) and our crib mattress (not urgent since baby is sleeping upstairs with us and has plenty of places to nap downstairs in the meantime- pack n play, rock n play, swing, etc) and some more diaper inserts (we have about 18, I think we’re aiming for at least 24- sound right?).

 
So we’re getting there!  I’ll make you wait until tomorrow for the bumpdate, since it WILL be 34 weeks exactly and all that….

 

 

*For anyone interested, looking for information on cost or general process, I am totally willing to share more information. I definitely felt (still feel) lost with the whole process so if I can help I’m willing to.  Email me for details or if you have questions. 🙂

 

 

**I could also insert a rant here about how I suppose we should be grateful that our state even deigns to allow second parent adoptions, but frankly, I’m not grateful. I’m pissed. We shouldn’t HAVE to do this and they should RECOGNIZE our families from the get-go, not just grudgingly and only after we’ve paid X amount of dollars and found the right judge to talk to to approve it.  UGH.  Anyways, I know I’m preaching to the choir so I’ll just leave it at that.

4 responses to “On the eve of 34 weeks…

  1. zunzunbobo says:

    i can’t believe you’re already at 34 weeks. that is so crazy!!! sorry you have all those adoption hoops. hopefully it’s relatively painless (except that $$. uff does that part hurt!).

    as for diaper inserts — i’d say see how you do with 18 before you buy more. you might find that you’re a-ok. we didn’t do cloth for the first two weeks, but since then we’ve been fine with 12-14 diapers total, doing laundry wash every other day. other people like to have a bigger (or more diverse) stash, but we’re swinging it just fine this way!

  2. Roxxroxx says:

    I am nervous about the number of nappies we have – I bought a load discounted on Ebay – only to discover since that they are discontinued, which means we can’t really embrace them as a total system as I had planned. Eek. Anyway – good luck with the adoption – as you say, try to appreciate at least that it is possible, despite the hoop-jumping required. Sometimes I feel that way about IVF – we have spent such a huge amount of money to make our family.. sigh. But at least it’s all possible, right?
    x

  3. Isa says:

    we’re doing the hoops, too–still waiting to hear if we need a home visit (I hope not. ugh). I’d actually say you’ll want more dipes than that, but maybe not. We tend to have 3 dozen in rotation at any given time, which means we have to do laundry every other day but still have some backups for the diaper bag, particularly busy times, etc. SO EXCITED ABOUT 6 WEEKS LEFT!!

  4. meridith says:

    I never would have said this a couple of years ago, but there’s never too much baby stuff! Oh sure, EVENTUALLY there is totally too much baby stuff, but in the lead up everything is just so awesome.

Leave a Reply

