lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

It’s that kind of day.

on July 24, 2012

…the kind where I cannot WAIT for this kid to be here, where the wait during the next 9 weeks or so seems impossibly long, where it seems like I’m going to EXPLODE because I just want this baby to be here, NOW.

Yes. I am having an impatient day.

It’s not that I’m *done* being pregnant or anything- not sick of it, not even that uncomfortable yet (okay, moderately… but I know it could be a whole lot worse and so I’m not complaining much). 

It’s just that, if there’s one thing I suck at, it’s waiting. Ask anyone. Waiting for dinner to be done when I’m hungry.  Waiting in line when I want to be at the front, NOW.  Waiting for the date of our vacation to get here.  Waiting nine months to meet this baby…

I can’t wait for him to be here. Odd as it is, I’m actually looking forward to labor- I am looking forward to feeling the love and support  and connection to my beautiful wife, and to making our family of three into a family of four, together.  I’m looking forward to holding him once he’s here, to hearing his first cries, to getting to put some of this abstract baby “knowledge” I’ve acquired into actual practical use.  I can’t wait for Thing One to meet him.  I’m picturing walks with him in the ergo and Thing One on her bike and Shorty and I strolling hand in hand through the autumn leaves. I’m picturing baby’s first halloween, baby’s first Christmas, cuddly newborn moments and new family memories.  I’m picturing bliss. (and yes, you can feel free to remind me of this vision when we are both sleep-deprived and running on empty from a newborn who’s up every thirty seconds at night).

But in order for anything I’m picturing to be REALITY, the next nine weeks (+1 day, +2 weeks if he goes overdue like I think he’s going to) need to fly by. And so far it’s kind of just… crawling.

I think the lack of definite milestones in the 3rd tri doesn’t help.  In second trimester, there was sooooo much to look forward to.  First movements and gender reveals and our 3D scan and viability!  It seemed like we were hitting a new one, or only a week or so away from a new milestone, every few minutes!  In this trimester, however, I don’t think there are any real milestones other than the full-term one at 37 weeks, and  it seems like the motto is just “wait it out. be patient.”

I am here to tell you: I suck at being patient.  I don’t want him here NOW because I don’t want him to be premature, but if it were possible to physically drag myself forward through time to the full term mark and then evict his little bare bottom… I’d be doing it.

Yep. One of those days.

One response to “It’s that kind of day.

  1. allison-lee says:

    The time will pass quickly.

Leave a Reply

