lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Bumpdate: 27+1

on June 29, 2012

…because yesterday was a craaaaazy busy day and I completely forgot to update and/or take a bump pic.  My bad.

So forgive me for the lateness, but you guys, we’re at 27 weeks! I know there’s a lot of debate and semantics surrounding the cutoff for second tri/ beginning of third tri issue, but since the tickers I use and the baby websites I go on (mostly) call 27 weeks third tri, plus 26w6d is exactly 2/3 of the way through pregnancy…  I’m just gonna go ahead and do my third trimester happy dance here. Happy daaaaaance!!!!

I am so GLAD to finally be here. It really feels like we’re on the downward slopes, you know? Yes, Baby still has to mature a bit more, but a lot of the major tasks are done and from here on out it’s a lot of gaining weight (for both Baby and I) and preparing for the birth process (for all of us).  It just feels like I can finally take a breath and actually look back and appreciate how far we’ve come. Yes, we still have 13 weeks left, but 27 weeks… daaaang.  It feels like (and has been) a long time since that cycle in December when we were debating whether or not to even start the Clomi.d at all!  So glad we did, by the way… 🙂  I am also so glad we started taking bump pics when we did because looking back now (and even though I thought I was chubby at the time) I can’t believe my belly was ever that small!  (Thanks to Michaela by the way for the encouragement to do the bump pics in the first place!). And I can’t believe it’s still going to get larger, or that the majority of “growing” in terms of belly size is still ahead of us!  I think I’d be good if my Bump and I just stayed the same size the rest of pregnancy, not that I think that’s going to happen.

I’ll just go ahead and stop being a tease and put in a few belly pics now:

27weeks, 1 day!

I feel big, but I could be bigger, I know.  My v-e-r-y pregnant coworker at work reminds me of this every day simply by virtue of having her own big (much bigger than mine) round ‘ole belly.  And she’s six weeks ahead of me so I know my own belly will probably only going to get bigger from here on out. But still. MAN.  Today alone, I got two comments relating to size.  One was from my boss (something along the lines of “every time I pass you I have to give you a wider and wider berth. Soon I’ll just have to stand aside!” as we passed each other in the hallway).  The other was from my wife- I had made a comment about not being allowed to tube downriver on our upcoming vacation because the river is too low and I am pregnant and the tubing company said no, and she jumped in with “oh yeah, that’s not a good idea, you’d be like one of those big ships that runs aground on the reefs and gets stuck.”  Thanks, wife.

In sad news, the Cankles have made their appearance.  😦  I don’t know if it’s a combination of the heat, by bad foot/favoring it more, or what, but both ankles are swollen and my right (hurt) foot is significantly more swollen than the other one. I’ve been resting and elevating them as much as possible (not a lot considering I have to work) and also increasing fluid intake and propping my right one up while I slept last night… so far, no dice.  There’s not much I can do though (right?) except sigh about it and hope it goes back down, soon….

Cankle. 😦

Anyways, our vacation is less than a week away and so is our wedding anniversary. Awww I’m so excited!  I have an awesome present for Shorty that I am DYING to show you all but, for obvious reasons, can’t… but you will get to see it when we get back and I have pictures.  =)  I’m excited to give it to her.

And finally, I just couldn’t leave you without posting this picture. I will probably get in trouble for it later when Shorty sees this, but… oh well.  T1 came home from her dad’s this weekend and she was WIPED, so she crawled up into Shorty’s lap to “rest, just for a minute mama.”  Shorty, meanwhile, was battling a migraine and took her medication that makes her drowsy… I turned around five minutes later and this is what I got.  New favorite picture. 🙂

LOVE them.

Have a good weekend you guys!  I have to work sadly, but it’s okay because vacation is SO SOON!!!!!!!!! Stay cool and safe!

7 responses to “Bumpdate: 27+1

  1. zunzunbobo says:

    omg. i mean, cute bump n all, but that pic of shorty and T1!!! CUTE!
    congrats on third trimester.

  2. Isa says:

    Aww..you’re so cute! And they’re so cute! 🙂 Sorry about the cankles–mine just got worse and worse. Try some light compression socks (you can get them at the drugstore)–sometimes those helped a little. Yay for third tri!

  3. have you thought about doing the maternity family pictures if finances allow? I think they would turn out really good

  4. allison-lee says:

    Congrats on reaching the third trimester! I’m sure the summer heat won’t make things fun, but not too much longer now!

  5. LOVE the bump!! 🙂

  6. SotOhana says:

    Yay! So happy for you to have reached the 3rd Trimester. That is a huge relief, I’m sure.
    P.S. That picture of Shorty and T1 really warmed my heart 🙂 Thank you for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

