lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

The best wife ever.

on May 3, 2012

I’ve got her.  I really, really do.

She is wonderful and amazing and loving and selfless.  She is thoughtful and kind and she is always thinking of ways to make me happ(ier) than I already am.

The latest, greatest, best example ever of this?

She knew I was feeling sad about not being around my friends and family from California during this pregnancy.  I’ve been pretty upbeat in general but knowing we were having the baby shower in July when my mom comes to visit, and knowing none of my friends or family (except my mom) would be able to afford to fly across country to be there for either the shower or to visit baby once he’s here (not until Christmas, anyways)… it’s a bit of a bummer.

So what did my loving, amazing, beautiful wife do to rectify the situation?

She bought us surprise plane tickets.  To California.  For a surprise early baby shower.  In THREE WEEKS!!!!!!!

We are leaving and going out for a four day weekend over memorial day.  We’re going to have a baby shower while we’re there, but more importantly, I’m going to get to see my family, my grandma, my other grandma (who I haven’t seen in YEARS), my people!  We get to go and hang out and eat Mexican food (oh how I have missed this) and dip our toes in the water (the ocean… sigh I miss this too!) and just celebrate the occasion.  I get to go back for a four day respite in my favorite city in the whole world (San Diego, for those wondering! Born and raised…)
I have tears in my eyes I am so, so happy and did I mention I love my wife? The gift of friends and family quality time… best surprise ever.  I love my wife.

 

The countdown is on. Three weeks until vacation!

5 responses to “The best wife ever.

  1. This is so awesome! I’m sure everyone will be excited to see you both and share in your baby joy. I hope you have a FANTASTIC time!

  2. Isa says:

    Yay! That is awesome! (and yes, you totally popped!)

  3. zeebah says:

    That is fantastic! You are a lucky lady. Have a great time! 🙂

  4. allison-lee says:

    That is awesome! I hope you guys really enjoy yourselves!!

  5. 2mommiestobe says:

    She is awesome!! Enjoy ladies 🙂

Leave a Reply

