lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

News!

on April 14, 2012

So last week when we were visiting with our midwife…

Wait a minute… what’s that you say? Did I just say “midwife”? As in, our midwife?  Huh.  Guess I did.

Cause THAT’S RIGHT, folks, we have finally gotten the hell out of the OB’s office and into the welcoming arms of a midwife.  She is amazing and I can’t believe it took us this long to go find her. This was very much my idea and Shorty was very skeptical at first (she told me later that, lacking any other information or experience with midwives, she was picturing a midwife as a kind of prehistoric witch-doctor… silly panda) but after our initial meeting and conversation with this lady (and a little more home research on her part), she was alllllll on board.  Our midwife is very female-empowering, very much believes that the female body was BUILT for pregnancy and naturally knows what to do, believes that pregnancy is NOT a disease to be cured, and in general has a very hollistic approach to prenatal care and delivery… everything I ever wanted and wasn’t getting at the OB’s office. She was very very inclusive of Shorty as my full on partner and parent to this child- something that was super important to us and yet another contrast with the OB’s office.  The OB has never given two shits about whether Shorty was present at my appointments or not, and even failed to introduce herself during the first appointment, something that has deeply bothered me (and Shorty too, I believe), since then.  If that was her mannerism and attitude during a routine, unrushed appointment, how would Shorty have been treated during labor and birth?   Probably not well!

So anyways… the initial interview went great and we walked out of there knowing we wanted to hire her.  She gave us a few days to think it over… we didn’t need a few days. Sold, right away. She was that amazing.

So now she’s going to be our midwife and we will see her at her office for all of our prenatal visits up to 36 weeks, at which point she will be coming to our home for the rest of the prenatal care.  We are planning on doing a home water birth, something I am simultaneously excited out of my mind for and completely shocked I chose.  I never in a million years thought I would be the kind of person who would want to give birth at home…. but we’re going to give it a go. 🙂  The hospital is nearby if something happens and the midwife has attended 1000-something home births… so we feel pretty confident she can handle this.

Overall, I am feeling very very happy and confident that this is the right choice for us and a good switch.  We are going to double dip for a few more weeks and “use” my OB office just to get our free gender/anatomy scan in ;), but after that we will be 100% under the midwife’s care.  And happy about it!

7 responses to “News!

  1. Isa says:

    Yay! So glad you found someone who is more in line with what you want–we were happy to switch, too. I loved my OB, but not everyone else in her clinic, and we’ve been so happy with everyone at the midwife practice. Hopefully you’ll have an awesome experience from here on out!

  2. allison-lee says:

    Congratulations!

    We were really happy with the care we received with our midwife… in fact, we’re hoping that she’ll be able to provide care for us again with this pregnancy.

  3. This is awesome news. Having care that meets your needs is most important, in my book. We will be using a midwife practice when I get pregnant also. We don’t want the gender scan so no need for OB.. unless we have multiples or something. lol. 🙂

  4. mummylass says:

    Both my pregnancies were looked after by midwives, wouldn’t want it any other way. They would have delievered my babies too if things hadn’t gone wrong lol

  5. Sarah says:

    My fiancee is a midwife 🙂 here in the uk all babies are delivered by midwives – they are amazing! Can’t wait until we can include pregnancy posts on our blog 🙂

  6. K says:

    Sounds like you found the perfect place to land – great news!!

  7. SotOhana says:

    Great choice! The difference I found between the RE’s office and the birthing center/midwifery office was HUGE. I think you two are going to continue to be incredibly happy with your choice.

Leave a Reply

