lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

16 weeks and stealing things…

on April 12, 2012

And by “stealing,” I mean “getting really really REALLY good deals at the biannual consignment sale we just got back from because it was so cheap it basically WAS stealing!!!”  I know, I know, you thought you were in for some amusing story about how I accidentally shoplifted a store.  Maybe next time…

Back to the consignment sale. Did I mention how AWESOME it was?!?!?! I first saw it being advertised like, 3 months back and had been looking forward to it ever since.  I figured it would be a good way to get some cheap but nice baby gear and boy, was I right!  Behold:

A Fisher Price Rock n Play sleeper, basically new… $30

A Bumbo with tray… $10 (I know we won’t need this for awhile but it was too good a steal to pass up!)

A playmat that I’m not sure was a “steal” ($14) but it was certainly too cute for me to pass up (and it has lights, music, vibrations, hanging toys etc so it seems to have been a good purchase)

A baby bathtub (again, only $5 so couldn’t resist)…

And last but not least, are you ready for this? The item I had been hoping,praying, DYINGto find (but since I got a preview of all the items at 6pm last night and there wasn’t one there then, I didn’t have much hope…)

An ERGO BABY CARRIER in EXACTLY the galaxy print I wanted, WITH infant insert!!!!!!!!!!!

Ready to know how much we paid for the carrier + insert???  $50.  Yeah. Happy mamas!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 While we were shopping I was specifically keeping an eye out for one, but didn’t see it amongst all the other off brand baby carriers.  Then on some random rack I saw it, gave a little gasp, and snatched it up so fast my wife the other shoppers probably thought I was a little crazy. But that’s okay!  I have been wanting one of these so bad and just as badly wanting to avoid paying the hefty $100 retail price for just the damn carrier alone.  Trolling our local craigslist or ebay did nothing… sooooo happy to have found it! When we got home, we couldn’t resist giving it a whirl….

Good thing the three year old is still (just barely) under the weight limit on it! Thing One was rather disappointed to have not gotten a go (sorry kid).

Overall, we are ridiculously pleased with our purchases… we are going back on Sunday (half price day) to troll through the racks of clothes and such for the bigger kids and to check and see if the stroller we liked that was $100 has been taken or if it is half price.

Also, with all this stuff we just bought, plus the swing we got way back in the early days, plus the cloth diapers we’ve been steadily accumulating month to month (I think we have 5-6 covers now and about 20 or so inserts and some wipes), PLUS knowing where our crib is coming from (my mom is gifting this to us when she flies out here for July)…. all of these things combined are really helping to make me feel like we are gradually getting ready for this child, and that slow and steady wins the race.  It was stressful, for me, to think of having to purchase all of the things needed for proper care of a baby (and still is, if I think of how much more is still on our plates… stroller and carseat and carseat bases, clothes, more diapers, swaddling blankets, those little mitten thingies so they don’t scratch themselves- all sorts of random but seemingly necessary gear), but doing it gradually and accumulating things at a gentle pace, rather than all at once towards the end, is making me feel a lot better about life and making me feel more prepared for a baby to be in it.  Plus, it’s fun.  🙂  That being said, our next major purchases probably won’t be until after the baby shower in July, at which point we’ll reevaluate to see where we stand.  You know.

So along with our growing inventory of *stuff* comes a growing of the baby belly as well (at least I think so)… so here’s the updated 16 week pic (and no, I’m not getting all modest and crap on you now, I was just too lazy to do it the way we’ve been doing! Shopping wore me out lol).  Plus, you get a bonus fully clothed pic, just because I had to take one anyways to send my mom. 🙂

Annnnd that’s about it! I do have some major news for you, but that will have to wait because I am both exhausted and starving at the same time and trying to figure out which one takes priority… but typing more definitely doesn’t! Have a good one. 😉

 

PS- thanks for the well wishes and sorry for being so.incredibly.whiny on that last post.  I am now 90% better, with a stubborn cough/wheeze thing sticking around just for funsies.  Ah, well. Can’t win em all.

4 responses to “16 weeks and stealing things…

  1. Alison says:

    Wow, you got some AWESOME deals!!!!! 16 weeks and lookin’ good, mama!! 🙂

  2. Michaela says:

    Oooh, I love this entry!!!!!!! What great purchases you made!!! Wow! Love the Ergo-Carrier and all the pictures that come along with the cute and awesome stuff. My most favorite picture is the last one. You look radiant!!!!

  3. Isa says:

    Good job on the ergo! I love that print, too! And you’re looking great! 🙂

  4. jessie says:

    What a steal on the ergo! I love that design. We love ours. And we have the same playmat. MJ is really into it right now!

Leave a Reply

