lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Ick-Sick

on April 10, 2012

So… I have to admit to you guys, that so far, second trimester is kicking my ass.  I’m hoping this won’t turn out to be a whiny post, but it might be   probably will be IS, so fair warning.

I’ve been sick for the past week and a half… two weeks? And it’s just this stubborn cold type thing that just WON’T go AWAY.  Every time I think it’s gone… I wake up the next morning and it’s back, or I’ll have a new symptom, or something else will be wrong*.  I’ve been completely exhausted and poor Shorty and the kids have not seen me doing anything but sleeping for this whole two weeks… come home, fall asleep on couch, get up for work the next day, rinse, repeat.  I also have had zero appetite… as in, I’ll be hungry, but unable to make myself eat more than fruit or a light glass of milk.  Food of all sorts just looks blah right now.  Sigh.

It’s really very tiring, both in body (I’d like to be able to breathe without it hurting!) and in spirit, as I know that this is taking a toll not only on me but on my family too… I would *like* to be there for them and with them in the evenings, I would *like* to have the energy to go to the park or on evening walks or anything else, I would *like* to have my head not pound every time I get up so that I could help around the house and play with the kids… but it’s just not happening.

I think it’s worth noting that some of the frustration of this post comes from a few things:  1) I am NEVER sick, ever.  I have the rockinest’ immune system ever invented (normally) and while I am perfectly used to playing nurse for my sick family members, I am completely unused to battling the Sick on my own for prolonged periods of time.  2) Last night,  I actually felt a little better, and I was able to stay up and spend some time with the kids and my wife…. but then it was followed by waking up this morning with a headache, coughing and my chest hurting again.  Just when I thought maybe I’d finally kicked it… hello, frustrating.

Luckily, today is my day off, so I can just stay home and rest and try to kick this thing for good.  And whine to you guys and the internets about it.  Because it helps to have someone to whine to (thanks for listening).  I have a gut feeling that we’re on the tail end of this, that it’ll go away soon and I just need to hang in there a bit longer.  Hopefully I’m right!

Thanks for listening to my sorry self.  Off to drink more tea and eat something… of some nature… hmmm.

 

*My wife, upon observing this fact and the seeming never-endingness of my symptoms, has officially declared me a “hot mess”.  I had to agree with her, and I thought it was pretty funny to boot.

2 responses to “Ick-Sick

  1. X says:

    Oh, pregnant immune system! I was sick right around the time I thought I should feeling better and it was such a disappointment after all the promises of rainbows and sunshine of the second trimester. Hope you feel better soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

