lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Scattered, Random Update…

on April 3, 2012

So in an effort to avoid this blog turning into a once-a-week bumpdate type of blog, I figured it wouldn’t kill me to come on here and actually write, you know, something of substance.  And I will, I promise… just not this post.  😉  This post will be about:

the baby kicking the doppler (aka the coolest thing EVER).  Last night, when we were laying in bed, we decided to listen in on the baby’s heartbeat right before bed.  So we got the doppler out, gelled me up, and found the kid riding low in more or less the same spot he’s been in (minus a few wiggles and hide n seek games when he gets away from us).  We got in about 10 seconds of nice strong heartbeats and uninterrupted listening time (we usually only listen for like 15-20 seconds anyways, just long enough to hear and reassure us that baby’s okay) when all of a sudden, the nice strong steady heartbeats were interrupted with a burst of static… after which, the heartbeat immediately resumed.  5 seconds later, it happened again- a burst of static, followed by the heartbeats resuming.  We couldn’t figure out what was happening as I was laying perfectly still, not moving the doppler or anything, until about the third or fourth time it happened and we realized- the baby was kicking (or punching) the doppler! That HAD to have been what was causing the static, there’s nothing else that could have caused it.  It was the neatest thing in the world.   Unfortunately, I couldn’t yet feel those kicks on the outside (not even a flutter :() but just knowing our spirited little baby is kung-fuing away in there is basically the coolest thing ever.  Seriously.

holy emotional rollercoaster.  So I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but Shorty and I had a Jamaica vacation/honeymoon/anniversarymoon booked for this July, before we found out we were pregnant.  And then when we found out, we figured we had more important priorities, like saving money and PTO, so we cancelled.  It made me very very sad and still does to cancel- our last trip to jamaica was the best time of my life and I had very much been looking forward to going back. I know you’re all thinking “why book that kind of trip if you know you might be pregnant or if you know you won’t be able to go if you DO get pregnant,” but frankly, we just weren’t expecting to get pregnant that fast!  We were hoping we’d be two or three months pregnant by then if we were LUCKY, plenty of time to go on our vacation and still have time afterwards to save up both money and vacation time for bunny.  I am by no means complaining about when we got pregnant (I swear) but I tell you all this to give some context to what happened next: because yesterday, my friend texted me while lying on the beach on her ALL EXPENSES PAID, ALL INCLUSIVE WEEK AND A HALF LONG TRIP to Mexico.  Yeah. So while I was very happy for my friend, when all I have been wanting is to go on vacation and we can’t go, it got a little much for my pregnant hormones and I ended up sobbing on the couch into my wife’s lap for an hour because I “wanted a 55 minute deep tissue massage on the beach, too!”.  Don’t worry.  I know I’m completely ridiculous.  Tell it to the hormones though, because they were out of control and nothing could stop them.

My wife was a rockstar throughout the whole thing, alternately soothing, reasoning, and cuddling me.  Nothing really worked, but I can tell you some good came out of it… at the end of the day yesterday, we did agree on (had already been talking about, actually, but finally finalized) plans to go out of town on a minimoon/vacation/anniversary trip to this little log cabin B&B in Gatlinburg, TN for our anniversary in July.  I am soooooo excited- getting away from it all, to a quiet relaxing mountain cabin, with just my wife, is just what the doctor ordered to soothe my MUST-GET-OUT-OF-TOWN-NOW nerves.

This is where we’re going… Isn’t it BEAUTIFUL?

Our room will be a private cabin with its own deck, jacuzzi on deck (not that I’ll go in it lol but Shorty will enjoy it!) and rain shower.  Plus did I mention the view and the scenery??? Ahhhh, it’s going to be perfect.  🙂  Did I mention I’m excited, that my wife loves me, and that I may be a teeny bit spoiled?

-Gender…  NO I am not about to tell you the gender, lol! But I just wanted to mention this sudden realization I had about this baby’s gender.  Before I got pregnant, both Shorty and I were firmly on team-I-want-a-boy.  Shorty is still very much on that team, but thinking about it the other day, I suddenly realized that I really don’t care anymore.  I really don’t- I will be happy with either and maybe that’s a good thing, because I have this nagging feeling that this baby is a girl.  I couldn’t tell you why and of course have no ultrasound to back it up, but whenever I think about what sex this kid is, “girl” just pops into my head.  Shorty would prefer to wait and see and not go with my gut, lol, although I know that if it’s a girl she will ultimately be just as happy… she just doesn’t know it yet.  😉  We find out on the 27th of this month… so close!!!  I haven’t decided if I’m going to tell you guys or wait for the birth. Convince me!

Last but not least, I had a rather scary episode at work today where my blood sugar suddenly plummeted with no warning what-so-ever, and in a matter of minutes I went from just fine to feeling dizzy, clammy, shaking, and like I was going to faint.  I had a can of sliced pineapple with me, which I quickly downed and drank the juice to boot, and then ate some nuts in order to get some longer-lasting protein in me.  It did nothing for at least an hour, except that I went from ready-to-faint to not-ready-to-faint-but-still-feeling-like-shit.  At one point, I was ready to go to the ER to get my blood sugar checked, but one of the nurses at my work had a blood sugar monitor on her (with one-time-use disposable needles) that we used to take my sugar level 20 minutes or so after the pineapple (I wish we had taken it before hand, but I didn’t know she had it and I wasn’t exactly thinking of anything except trying desperately to get my sugar up).  So when we took it post-pineapple, it was 80, which is in the normal range (low is 70 or below) but she said that having just eaten the entire can of pineapple, a very sugary fruit, she would have expected to see a much higher reading (in the 100’s) twenty minutes later if I had started out with adequate blood sugar to begin with.  The fact that it was only 80, on the low end of normal, strongly suggested to her that my blood sugar must have been in the tank in order for all that sugar to have had such little effect.  I agree with her based on how I was feeling, but of course the only way to confirm would have been to have a blood sugar test before I ate anything.  The good news is, I have my monthly dr. appointment tomorrow, and ironically enough they were already going to do the glucose tolerance test since I have a family history of diabetes- so I’ll have that done and I’ll have a chance to talk to my doctor about what the hell just happened.  It was not an experience I’d like to repeat- I’ve been a little shaky before from getting too hungry, but nothing like that.  It was not enjoyable. 😦

So those are the updates… and believe it or not there’s a hell of a lot more (my sibling, for instance, dropped a HUGE whopper on our family this week that I can’t wait to talk to ya’ll about) but this is already long enough, so…

I’ll keep you updated and let you know how the doctor appointment goes!

6 responses to “Scattered, Random Update…

  1. OMG!! You’d better tell us!!! 😛

  2. Your vacation sounds lovely.( I have a 2 night hotel stay in Pigeon Forge, TN during Memorial Weekend that I’m trying to sell ($80) to someone because my stupid brother changed his wedding location and I’m not driving 5 hours from our hotel to the wedding. GAH!)

    I think you should keep the sex a secret, I know we’ll be keeping it a secret!

  3. We keep the sex a secret to everyone, including ourselves :). We didn’t find out with Ryan… Or e twins… And won’t be finding out with this baby either! It is so exciting when baby is born to find out the gender.

  4. Amy says:

    just a note about your sugar (im a type 1 diabetic). even if you did down a can of pineapple your sugar wouldnt be super high only 20 minutes after eating it. it would have started to come up from where you were at when you felt like shit, but i bet if you would have been able to check your sugar an hour later, it would have been on the higher end. hoping diabetes isnt something you’ll have to deal with in your pregnancy but if you need any help, feel free to reach out. glad baby is having fun in there! stay well :o)

  5. prettyisa says:

    That place looks lovely! And you can get a massage in town–it might even be nicer to have the massage seperate from the vacation, you know? Twice the opportunities to kick back! Sorry about the blood sugar–I HATE that feeling. Hopefully it was just a weird one-time thing.

  6. X says:

    Loving the pictures of where you’re headed! We’re trying to plan something awesome and we both feel like we NEED SOMETHING NOW to hold onto between right now and baby time.

Leave a Reply

