lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Double digits! 10w, 2d. =)

on March 3, 2012

So, I neglected to post a celebratory post on Thursday to commemorate the fact that we are finally into double digits with this pregnancy.  We also neglected to take a 10 week picture.  Sheesh, we suck!

I will say, though, that I really feel like time is flying.  It seems like just yesterday that we got our positive test, just yesterday that we were in the tenuous and nerve-wracking early early days- counting out things like 4w3d, 5w1d, 6w5d… with every day that passed and no sign of miscarriage something to be celebrated and thankful for.

It is still that way, of course… but I am settling into the idea of this pregnancy, the reality of the baby growing inside me, the understanding that our chances of miscarriage at this point have fallen below two percent.  I understand that miscarriage is still a possibility, and will, in fact, be a possibility until this baby is safely delivered…. at which point there will be other worries.  But having made it to 10 weeks now, each day feels less nerve-wracking and more peaceful.  Less stay-up-at-night worrying and more hopeful.  I am thrilled to have made it this far and will be even more thrilled when in two short weeks we hit the magical 12 week mark and the cusp of being in the second trimester and out of the first.

We also made an important decision this week.  You know all the complaining I’ve been doing about the doctors we’ve been seeing, and how we’ve been enduring the long wait times and the less-than-personal staff?  Well, it all came to a head on Friday, when I went in for my dating scan.  I know, I know, we said we were looking at moving to a different doctor’s, but with the dating scan already firmly in place, we figured there would be no harm in at least going- at least to see the baby again, since in our minds of course the dates our baby was created are not in question.

Anyways… we were wrong.  9 am appointment time, and I showed up (solo, Shorty had work :() 10 minutes early… and then proceeded to sit around and wait for the next two and a half hours.  Yep. 2 1/2.  I wish I were exaggerating.  I know I don’t have the right to complain too much about it, since we knew ahead of time that a long wait was a possibility… but c’mon, two and a half hours?! That’s ridiculous.  So I sat. And waited. And watched netflix on the ipad.  And twiddled my thumbs.  And at some point in time, I started getting really frustrated… and mad… and sad.  And before I knew it, tears came as I sat there and suddenly I was the pregnant lady sitting there crying uncontrollably in the waiting room.  Yep.  Love those pregnancy hormones….

So in the middle of all this, Shorty called.  She had been keeping up with me via email and knew I was still waiting.  So I answered and she immediately asked me for my insurance card.  She said the waiting was ridiculous, she’d completely had enough, and she was going to find us a new doctor right then and there.  My knight in shining armor!  I tearfully gave her the information and suddenly a decision we’d been hemming and hawing over was made.  Done.  Shorty suggested I then tell the nurses at the current clinic to fuck off and walk out, but I really wanted to see the baby so I stayed… but it was nice, knowing that would be my last time having to endure that waiting.  Thanks to Shorty, we have a doctor’s appointment at the new place at the end of the month on the 26th, and I am looking forward to it so so much!

Shorty said her phone conversation with them was awesome.  She spoke to one of the nurses there, and said that the nurse didn’t even pause for a second when Shorty mentioned being in a same sex relationship.  In fact, the nurse went on to ask if we’d gone through a sperm bank or through a donor, ICI or IUI, etc.  So it seems like they’ve definitely seen same sex couples before!  She also asked when the first day of my lmp was, and Shorty couldn’t remember, but did tell her that we were pretty sure of our dates because of the OPKs and the temping.  Shorty explained that we had gotten our first positive OPK on a Wednesday, insemmed that night, and seen a temp spike on Friday, at which point the nurse exclaimed “Oh, you are right on with your dates then! I’ll just put you down for 10 weeks 1 day!”  Do you know how happy that makes me- to have a doctor’s office who understands the process we went through and knows that yes, we really do know how far along we are in this pregnancy???  Every other doctor has insisted on going by LMP, which is about a week off in our case!  So awesome that they’re willing to go by our dates and understand the process we went through.

The final icing on the cake is that this doctor we will be seeing has priviledges at one of the hospitals I’ve been wishing we could go to.  This new hospital offers water births, midwives, and a nicer, shinier labor and delivery ward than the current one could even dream of.  So there are definitely a lot of perks to moving, even though it means we will have to foot some of the bill ourselves, and I am excited to see the new doc at the end of the month and get the ball rolling!

Finally, if you’ve made it this far, I think you deserve a reward in the form of a few pictures from the scan.  Although the pictures from this time around are more blurry, I think the baby actually looks a little bit more like a baby and less like a peanut.  Or more like a blob at least… but I’ll let you decide. 🙂  The tech also said that it was hard to accurately measure the baby as s/he was all curled up, but as it is the baby measured 9w4d… up by 6 days from last friday’s appointment, and behind 4 days from where s/he should be.  Again, trying not to worry about that.  Also, the heartbeat was only 164 this time… down from 180 last time.  Anyone know if that’s bad???  =/

Pictures!

More like a baby? Or am I imagining things...?

And then a picture that made us all smile this week… T1 colored this picture of our family of FIVE at school and brought it home to show us. She said from left to right is me, Baby (looking very kid-like and not baby-like, lol), her, Bubby, and Mama.  How freakin cute is this?!

Makes me smile.  Every time.  🙂

6 responses to “Double digits! 10w, 2d. =)

  1. Jessie says:

    Look at that baby! So glad you found a new office – 2.5 hours is ridiculous!

  2. Belle says:

    Awesome pics! I’m glad y’all are finally gonna see a doc that understand your particular situation. Waiting 2 1/2 hours is ridiculous! I’m glad the new doc will be listening to you, not just passing you along. 🙂

  3. Jessie says:

    Oh and I don’t think I have your PW! Feel like sharing?

  4. I think that I would DIE if I ever had to wait that long. My patience stick is very short in waiting areas. lol. Congrats on the new office, sounds great, and thanks for sharing the baby photos/video. happy!

  5. prettyisa says:

    awww–so sweet! And I wouldn’t worry at all about the dating or the heartbeat–that sounds right on track to me! And so glad you’ve got a better doctor, possibly with better options for later, but definitely without the ridiculous wait times! Did they even come check on you when you started crying? Hmpf.

  6. X says:

    Yay! And BOO for the waiting.. I would have just walked out, I think, super angrily. I’m glad that the new office seems more together and appealing – hope the appointment goes well 🙂

Leave a Reply

