lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

I want to go on vacation!

on February 18, 2012

So this is not really baby-related, but can I just say how much I am dying to go on some sort of vacation? Any vacation!

We had a trip to Jamaica booked over our anniversary in July that I was incredibly excited about, but that was before we found out I was pregnant.  We cancelled said trip, because with baby coming three short months later and me not having been at my job long, vacation time is suddenly a hot commodity and not something we can just spend willy nilly.  To be honest, when we booked the trip, we didn’t expect to get pregnant so fast and expected to have more time to save up for vacation!  Needless to say, although I am over-the-moon excited about the pregnancy, I am still in mourning for my planned luxury trip with our beachfront walkout suite and all inclusive drinks, sports, and everything else.  Sigh.  =(

Shorty doesn’t know it yet, but I have been lurking on livingsocial escapes, tripadvisor, and other travel sites just trying to find a quick affordable extended weekend getaway to SOMEWHERE.  Maybe a three night stay in cancun? ! quickie trip? or a quick flight to new york?  I don’t know, but I’ve got the travel bug and I need to go somewhere. I’m desperate, and I’m willing to use a vacation day or two in order to get ‘er done…. just not a whole week, because the more time I use now, the less of my FMLA time will be paid come September/October.

Where would you go, if you were us?

4 responses to “I want to go on vacation!

  1. I would go to NYC!! I’m just 2hrs away from NYC and I want to go all the time, C has NEVER been. Or, you could quickie vacation to Philly and get the cutest onesie for the munchkin that has Rocky on it for just $7. lol. I love vacations and we’re taking one in 2 weeks (spring break!) because I might have a meltdown if I don’t get away from my life soon.

  2. weddedwife says:

    Is there anywhere close via driving distance?

  3. Laurie says:

    New York so we can meet up for lunch!

  4. X says:

    Anywhere! We are planning two trips and I am SO SO SO glad to even have the idea of getting out of here to look forward to 🙂

Leave a Reply

