lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Onwards and Upwards…

on February 8, 2012

Well… we had our second doctor’s appointment today.  I am sorry to say it was not any better than the first.  Two hour wait, five minutes talking to the doctor who was rushed because it was after hours because we waited so long the clinic actually closed.  And this was at the so called “nicer” clinic downstairs!  We thought, many times, about getting up and walking out… but stayed, because it was a prenatal appointment we supposedly needed to be at.  However, in the end, they took some vitals, some pee, and basically told us come back in a month.  This might have been okay if it were it not for the two hour wait and if it were not for the fact we had been told this would be the heartbeat appointment, we would find out twins/singleton, etc.  Very bummed and we will probably be finding an entirely different doctor all together (and eating the cost difference, since any other dr. we go to will be more expensive than free).

Sigh.

Now that I got that off my chest…  today is still a special day.  Today is the one year anniversary of this blog!!!  Looking back on posts from this time last year, it is crazy and awe-inspiring to me that this time last year, we were dreaming about and hoping for baby, temping, going to see the RE, and making crazy trips to Babies R Us for babies we didn’t even have yet!  And yet this time THIS year, we are actually pregnant.  For this baby and these past seven weeks of pregnancy, I am unfailingly grateful and completely amazed.  Even though we were dreaming for/praying/hoping for a pregnancy and a baby, I never really imagined myself here.  In these shoes.  Ranting about a doctor’s appointment.  Yet here we are and here I hope we continue to be, and I am grateful.

Something else I’m grateful for is this entire community.  Although in the past I have started (and abandoned) various livejournals, blogger blogs, and wordpresses, this is the first one I’ve ever kept for any real length of time, let alone a full year.  The difference, I whole-heartedly believe, is the community I have found within the pages of each and every one of your blogs.  To find a group of women who uphold and support each other so thoroughly and yet are still technically complete strangers… it’s amazing to me, and I am so glad to have met you all! I look forward to continuing our journeys together in the future.

 

Love,

Amazon

 

PS- sorry, this post was supposed to be much more eloquent, but first-trimester fatigue has gotten the better of me once again.  Instead of going back to edit, I’m just going to hit publish and trust that you all will be able to gather the general sentiment, even if the writing is not A quality.  Good night!

 

6 responses to “Onwards and Upwards…

  1. That really sucks about your doctor appointment being less than stellar but I’m so glad that things are going well for you. A whole year of blogging, what an accomplishment.

  2. X says:

    I’m really sorry about the doctor’s appointment – that is ridiculous! If you are able to swing it, I think paying ANYTHING for better care and feeling more confident in the care is totally worth it… and maybe you’ll get a quick u/s out of it, too 🙂

  3. A C = B says:

    Will you go with that 3-D ultrasound when you do get one? Glad to have you around these parts too!

  4. Heather says:

    ugh, a 2 hour wait!!! Holy Cow! I’d be finding someone else, that is terrible. AND to not get what you were expecting. I would of been totoally crushed.

    I hope that you find a doctor who can give you the care you deserve. Hopefully, they will be able to give you a u/s when you go in for your first visit. Request one! I know that regular OBs don’t do them as early as the RE clinics do, but I’m sure they can do it. By the time you find and get into a different office you’ll be far enough long that they can see everything, so no excuses!

  5. Isa says:

    That’s a total bummer, for sure. I hope you find someone else who is faster and willing to do what they say they will! Have you thought about midwives? They seem to be more reliable in terms of not having to wait for HOURS to see one…

  6. weddedwife says:

    I hope that you are able to find a doctor where you will have a better experience. This is such an awesome post…I truly enjoyed blogging because of the community I have found. 🙂

Leave a Reply

