lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

In the middle of 5-week Land.

on January 31, 2012

So here we are in the middle of five-week-land.

Everything is going smoothly, and we have our appointment in just over a week (we’ll be 7 weeks by then- crazy!).  I’m a little apprehensive, because although this appointment is ostensibly to hear the heartbeat and get my exam and all that, a coworker who’s 6 weeks ahead of me told me that when she went in for her heartbeat appointment a few weeks back (at the downstairs clinic), they couldn’t find it because the equipment they’re using is really old and not sensitive enough. She’s 11 weeks pregnant!  It’s pretty standard, is it not, to be able to find the heartbeat by then? UGH.  They had to use the transvag wand instead to find the baby that way…. so negative, might not get to hear the baby, positive, might get to SEE the baby??? Hmmmm…

In symptom-land, I would like to welcome my new friends Heartburn, Gas (sorry, family, coworkers, and general public), and a teensy weensy bit of Nausea to center stage.  It’s like, all of a sudden this week things have kicked it up a notch and my body is determined to make me FEEL this pregnancy.  Every five minutes I’ll find myself wondering- heartburn… why do I have heartburn? Oh yeah, I’m pregnant.  Is that nausea I’m feeling?  Why would I be feeling sick?  …oh yeah, I’m pregnant.  Oh man, I’ve got GAS- oh yeah, I’m pregnant.  And so on and so forth.  I’m not complaining (yet) because frankly, these symptoms are a little bit reassuring- a physical manifestation of a pregnancy that so far has only been proven in pee sticks.  That being said, Nausea, please do NOT take that as an invitation to kick it up another level.  I am doing just fine with where we are and would like to stay here, pleaseandthankyou.

Finally, I know Shorty already talked about it, but it makes me so happy I have to talk about it some more.  Did you all SEE the baby swing thingy we got?!?!

Isn't it ADORABLE?! I know it looks pink in the picture, but it's actually cream colored ( a lot of friends were asking if we knew if our baby was a girl already because we bought a pink swing).

I know it’s way early to be buying baby stuff, but we happened to stumble across that one at a terrif price and couldn’t turn it down.  I first saw that swing and BRU a year ago when we went just to browse, and have wanted it ever since!  So early or not, I’m over-the-moon excited about having it in our house.  More physical proof that we’re supposed to actually come home with a baby at the end of all of this!

8 responses to “In the middle of 5-week Land.

  1. Jessie says:

    I would think at 6 weeks they’d have to do a vaginal ultrasound to see/hear the heartbeat. My least favorite thing!

    They couldn’t find HP’s with a Doppler at 12 weeks

  2. Yeah, sorry, but I think 7 weeks is likely to be too early for a doppler with the heartbeat. But vag-cam is worth the annoyance to see your little bean! And I think some judicious shopping early on is perfectly reasonable. After all, how could you have walked past that thing and NOT bought it?

  3. Michaela says:

    Wow, hearing the heartbeat that early? We heard it for the first time when I was 32 weeks pregnant.

  4. candice says:

    i had an ultrasound at 7 weeks, and i didnt hear the heartbeat, but i saw it beating. that was awesome. the next ultrasound i have is at 12 weeks, hopefully ill hear it !

  5. Just chiming in to say how excited I am for you all! Yes that seems early to hear the heartbeat. I think my office said usually by 10 weeks was a safer spot but then sometimes it was even hard. Also, just a heads up… We too bought this swing at BRU at a huge discount. Loved it for many reasons but had some major issues also. So keep that recite. The motor is rather loud so in the future you may need to get a noise maker to cover it up. Our girls would wake the second we got them near it… And it can be on the slower side for swing speed. We ended up getting a different one after continued issues. But man its adorable right! I love the animal print and how soft it was. I imagine if you start out using it with your little one they would get used to it… while we tried to introduce when ours were 3ish months and not familiar with the noisiness and slower speed. So excited to hear about your coming appointment and sorry about hyjacking here a little.

    • lezbemoms says:

      You didn’t hijack at all, thanks for the feedback! We did read a lot of a reviews on and it and some did mention what you said, about how the motor is too loud. I’m hoping if we do like you said and just introduce it straight away, it won’t be a problem.. plus, this kid is going to have a 7 year old sister and a 4 year old brother running around! It’s going to have to get used to sleeping with noise, lol.

      Guess that is the problem with buying stuff in preparation of baby though- you never know what baby will love or hate until after baby’s here!

  6. Sorry to be a bit late to the party (I’m still trying to catch up on the reading as well as writing of blogs), but CONGRATULATIONS! Yay, BFP!

  7. Karma says:

    We were never given any option but the transvag ultrasound until 12 weeks when my midwife was able to find the heartbeat with a doppler. That was the first time we ‘heard’ it instead of ‘saw’ it, but seeing it was pretty awesome, too.

Leave a Reply

