lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

4w4days… for real this time.

on January 23, 2012

We’re back to where we already were at 4w4d… but for real this time.  I am SO GLAD this week is finally here:  I have my first Dr.’s appointment on Wednesday.  Aside from having a bazillion questions to ask them, I’m excited to have a medical professional actually confirm this pregnancy.  Hopefully it will feel more real to me once they do.  Shorty was laughing at me last night because she caught me in the bathroom, sitting anxiously and staring at the digital test I’d just taken, waiting for it to pop up with the word “pregnant” on it.  Of course it did, and I let out a sigh of relief I hadn’t known I’d been holding in until that moment.  I just needed the reassurance, you know???  Yes, I know I’m going slightly crazy right now.  It’s okay.  At this appointment, I’m also excited to get a script for prenatals.  I know I could buy them OTC, but around here we have a program where a lot of the local grocery stores will give out brand name prenatals free as long as you have a prescription.  YAY for saving $30 a bottle!

This coming weekend also marks my birthday, an event which I would normally be ridiculously excited about (birthdays were always a Big Deal in my family) but which, this year, has definitely been eclipsed by my excitement for being pregnant… and by the fact that sushi, which is my usual go-to birthday fare, is now off the menu and I might be pouting about it a little.  😉  But not really.  I’d rather have to pick something else and be pregnant than eat sushi and not be pregnant!

Shorty has been particularly adorable (shhh don’t tell her I said that) when it comes to this whole pregnancy thing.  She plays it off like “been there, done that” but then I catch her online looking at cribs or cloth diapers or bassinets and looking up hospitals and birthing centers in our area.  It’s cute, and it makes me happy that she’s just as excited about Baby as I am.  🙂

Finally, have you guys seen this incredible birth photo yet?  It was submitted for Nation.al Geo.graphic’s photo contest for photo of the year.  I am in awe of the woman in the picture…. apparently she was screaming “I Love You, Baby!” as her child was born.  Incredible.  I also love this photo.  The full set of photos can be viewed here.

 

5 responses to “4w4days… for real this time.

  1. isa says:

    Happy birthday! What about just getting veggie rolls? It’s not quite the same, but it does feel like you’re having sushi in a pinch! Looking forward to hearing the official confirmation!

  2. isa says:

    Oh, and I love the redesign!

  3. weddedwife says:

    Congrats on the pregnancy 🙂

    I have seen those photos and I thought they were amazing. I showed them to my wife and she was a little bothered by them. She keeps asking me why the guy is so close. LOL

  4. zunzunbobo says:

    sushi is my birthday go-to, too. but! but! you can have cooked fish (shrimp, scallops, eel, etc.). also, i fudged it a couple of times. we have one fave sushi place, v reputable, have never gotten sick. the sushi restriction isn’t about placental-crossers, just about you barfing tons, no?

    but best bday present! happy birthday!

  5. X says:

    Only 35 1/2 weeks left (give or take)! Love the pictures – thanks for linking to them!

Leave a Reply

