lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

4 weeks, 4 days…

on January 19, 2012

According my calculations, of course. Our EDD is September 27 (although to be honest, this subject is quite confusing for me- do I calculate from the date of ovulation/conception? Or from date of LMP?).

At this point in time, I am still having trouble believing I am pregnant. I think that’s pretty understandable though, considering the newness of all of this. This disconnect comes in spite of some deep, down-to-the-core fatigue that I have been feeling pretty much since 8DPO, in spite of some food aversions that are already making themselves known (pizza, for instance, is already on my shitlist), and in spite of the random cramps/twinges that I feel going on down there at random points throughout the day. It also comes in spite of a nerve-wracking yet ultimately happy conversation with my mother yesterday. My mother and I (though we fight like cats and dogs sometimes; see Christmas posts for examples!) are also very close, and as soon as we found out I knew she had to know right away. So we told her, and after some initial trepidation about what she might say (she had *no idea* we were trying!), she burst out in surprised happiness for us and wanted to know if she could tell the world. She’s a little bit excited about this. =)

The one part she wasn’t excited about was the fact that this baby is due in September… and she lives 2,500 miles away from us. She’s a teacher, and so she has June-August off… she wanted to know why we didn’t plan it for the baby to be born in August! All I could do was laugh at that one- sorry Ma, we tried, didn’t work. She was even a bit tearful on the phone, wondering how she would get to the birth on time, etc etc. I did my best to soothe her, but the reality is that there’s no guarantee. Yes, she can hop on a plane as soon as I tell her I’m having contractions, but that *still* doesn’t guarantee that the plane won’t be delayed or that she will make it on time. I guess we have the next nine months to face that truth and hope for the best.

Finally, I know we all react to big, life-altering news in different ways. I, for instance, obsess over whatever the news is. In this case, I have been haunting pregnancy forums, reading pregnancy books, really just trying to find out as much as I can as fast as I can. Shorty, however, has a different take on it. Perhaps it’s because she’s a little more practical than I am, but she dove straight for the cloth-diapering websites… she wants to start putting together our stockpile ASAP. “A few diapers a month,” as she called it. “That way when the baby comes we won’t have to drop $400 on them and we’ll be set.” I smile and nod and look at her CD research with interest, all the while thinking that I am so lucky to have a wife who’s this excited, this involved… that she’s looking up baby diapers 9 months early. =) Don’t be surprised if you see a resurgence of my old CD post here in the next few weeks, as we try to narrow down the selections and get opinions again!

Thank you all for your enthusiastic congratulations and well-wishes. It truly means the world, and I am once again reminded of how lucky I am to have stumbled upon this community when I first started this blog!!!

PS- one thing I didn’t mention in this post, on purpose, was the possibility of a MC. I am well aware that we are ridiculously early in the game and that anything and everything could go wrong at this point… but I am choosing to acknowledge that possibility, put it aside, and live in the positives as if nothing will go wrong and the baby will be here in September as planned. So just FYI- we know what could happen and we’re choosing to ignore it. However, any prayers or crossed fingers or positive energy you would like to offer up for a sticky baby would still be much appreciated!!!

Edit: pregnancy test pics added by popular demand! Thought you guys would be tired of them by now. ;). These are actually from last night right before bed, as I totally forgot to take pics of this morning’s.

20120119-131446.jpg

20120119-131509.jpg

13 responses to “4 weeks, 4 days…

  1. K says:

    Sooo exciting and soooo happy for you!!

  2. mummylass says:

    Fertility friend will tell you your due date! That is the one we most trust seeing as how it knows when I ovulated. They will try and change it at you appointments but I know my real due date lol
    Is there a pregnancy test piccy today? I need my fix!

  3. I love that she’s already diaper shopping! And if your mom doesn’t make it for the birth itself, she’ll definitely be there to be the first to meet your little one, so it will all work out. šŸ™‚

  4. Michaela says:

    Ah, I love the new pictures!!!! Came back right before I’ll go to bed in some minutes (it’s a 10:45 p.m. around here) and what are my tired eyes seeing? TESTS!! And such nice ones. oooh, I think I am pregnancy high too.

  5. you 2 are so cute! Again, I’m over the moon excited for you. Be as happy and nervous as you want, you’re allowed.

    I’m so excited the clomid kicked your eggs into gear on the first try!

  6. Woo hoo!

    I love CD, but be warned: they can really start to pile up! I’m glad my sister is having a baby soon and we’ll be able to split our stash!

  7. candice says:

    First CONGRATS!!!!

    my dr goes by lmp, so you and i are about 4 weeks apart. and the great thing, my birthday is sept 27, so your baby is amazing already!

    YAY!!!! congrats!!

  8. candice says:

    opps haha. my birthday is sept 28! not 27th. haha

  9. Nina says:

    So happy again for you two. And Keep the Faith, don’t worry about all the extra stuff that can happen.

  10. Sorry I’m late to say: Congratulations! Love this post and so thrilled for you!

  11. Michaela says:

    Like the new design šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

  12. jessie says:

    Congrats! My bday is 9/28:)

Leave a Reply

