lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Reflections and a Recap of the Holidays

on January 2, 2012

Well, now that 2012 is safely here and my parents and sister are on a plane heading home, it seems I finally have time to hop on here and recap our holidays for ya’ll- and whew, what a holiday season it was!  With my parents visiting, waaaaaaay too many presents for the kids, and the aforementioned space issues,  the family visit was a bit crazy, but also so much fun.  The times I will look back on and remember with gladness are nights spent playing cards, watching movies with the family, opening presents Christmas morning and Christmas dinner- quality family time that comes around so rarely when you live on opposite coasts from your loved ones.

We didn’t take many pictures on Christmas day, mainly because we were too busy controlling the chaos and stopping the kids from diving headfirst into everything enjoying the process of opening gifts- and with 7 people in the house, what a process it was!  The kids were absolutely the stars of the show (as it should be) and consequently received the lions’ share of gifts, but that doesn’t mean the rest of us were left out in the cold!  My prize presents, for instance, were a new Niko.n camera and an electric ice cream maker from my wife that I cannot WAIT to put to good use.  I gifted my lovely wife with a Keu.rig (given her love of coffee) and she also received several wii games she was really excited about.  My parents gave each other various gifts and we gave them a gallery-wrapped photo of our entire family taken at mine and Shorty’s wedding this past summer.  And finally, the kids got a crapton of stuff, including but not limited to a play kitchen, a new dollhouse for Thing One, a train set for Bubby, and everything else under the sun it seems like.  Our living room Christmas morning looked like Christmas threw up all over it… so all in all, I’d call it a successful Christmas!

As for new year’s, we passed up an invitation to attend a neighbors’ pajama party in favor of… well, frankly, it was in favor of all of us sitting at home being bums instead.  Lazy bums, at that.  🙂  But it was my parents’ and sister’s last night in town, and it was nice to just relax with them and not have to worry about going anywhere.  We did set off sparklers and noisemakers as the ball dropped at midnight, and made toooooons of noise that I’m sure our elderly (read:grumpy) neighbors appreciated.  Eh.  One night a year, right?

In terms of hopes and dreams for the new year?  Well, let’s just say I have high expectations for 2012.  I’d like to be either be hugely pregnant or have a newborn by this time next year… and I’m pretty sure Shorty or I would give just about anything for that to happen.  I’m also going to start applying to PA schools when the application cycle opens up here in a few months, and I certainly wouldn’t say no to some early acceptance letters!  Finally, I’d like to get back on track with my own personal health and fitness.  I’ve let them slide a lot this year in favor of ice cream trips and nachos and staying home instead of going on walks.  That isn’t like me, and I’m strongly motivated to get back on track in those areas.  Plus, we’re talking about going back to Jamaica for our anniversary in July… gotta be ready for that, now don’t I?  😉

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season and that you rang in 2012 surrounded by loved ones and happiness.  I’ll leave you with some pics of our holiday, and here’s hoping 2012 is a good year for all of us!

 

'Twas the night before Christmas and all through the house, not a creature was stirring except for the mouse...

Before the madness began...

 

The only picture I have of the two of them from Christmas morning!

 

She thinks she's hot stuff in her new Hello Kitty earmuffs.

Checkin' out his new Thomas set...

 

My top prizes of the morning! Ice cream maker and a new camera!

A few days after Christmas, we had our first snow. Bubby enjoyed it tremendously!

Thing One enjoyed it too!

all bundled up like a marshmellow!

A few days later all the snow was gone again and we hit the park!  From L to R, my sister, dad, and Bubby.

not the best picture ever, but he was so cute in these swings! He's almost too big for them but he's TERRIFIED of the bigger ones.

 

Out to lunch. The only family picture of the whole dang trip- and Bubby wasn't there!

Thing One and her Grammie. =)

the kitten has already taken up residence in the dollhouse...

New Year’s Eve Sparklers…

Sparkler fun!

Sparkler-wonder.

Happy New Year!!!!!!

 

2 responses to “Reflections and a Recap of the Holidays

  1. Beautiful family photos!!

  2. prettyisa says:

    Awww…looks like you had a great time! And holy crap, that is a ton of presents!

Leave a Reply

