lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

A Partridge in a Pear Tree…

on December 13, 2011

Well, since I have nothing else to post (literally nothing goin’ on here folks, just waiting and waiting and waiting and did I mention waiting? for this endless cycle to end in order to start the Clo.mid cycles) and because I thought it would be fun, I decided to participate in the 12 day Holiday Blog Challenge posted over at An Offering of Love. This post is a day early, but since I know I probably won’t have time to post tomorrow I’m posting now. Deal with it. đŸ˜‰

So, on the topic of Christmas trees… we choose to have a tree, and to call it a Christmas tree, in our house. Calling it a Christmas tree is more for convenience’ sake, since neither one of us is hard core religious, but this is what we both grew up calling it and what our kids hear it called in stories and such at school. The significance of the tree, however, is what I’m pretty sure differs for both of us. Although I’ll try not to speak too much for Shorty, she and I have very different belief systems. She believes there is a God and follows some form of Christianity, and thus the tree has meaning to her as a true CHRISTmas tree. I, on the other hand, am some blend of agnostic/atheist, and rather than rejoicing in the religious connotations of the tree, I take pleasure in having this wonderful symbol of nature, of the solstice, and of hope and tradition in our midst during this holiday season. The tree has meaning to me because of its pagan origins, because it’s beautiful, and mainly because it’s a tradition I was raised with and enjoyed and want to pass on to my children. I love to look at it and imagine all the kids’ presents under it Christmas morning, imagine the hope and potential that lays under the boughs of our Christmas tree, waiting to be opened and discovered by our over-excited children.

The tree is a central part of our celebrations, a symbol that has a slightly different meaning to both of us, yet one that unites us in love, hope, and holiday spirit.

I would love to hear about your holiday traditions and whether or not they involve a tree. Do share?

One response to “A Partridge in a Pear Tree…

  1. yay! im glad you are participating (though i have to admit, i read your post this morning and thought “10 days of Christmas”? then i went back and looked at my blog post from yesterday and sure enough, that’s what i wrote. doh! i meant to write 12 days of Christmas…sigh. thats what you get for blogging while distracted at work!)

    anyhow…our house sounds very similar to yours. i just blogged about it a bit. my partner was raised catholic and still holds on to her christian faith (somewhat). i wasnt, so the holiday is entirely different for me. we are going to have some negotiating to do in the years ahead…

Leave a Reply

