lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Ugh.

on August 30, 2011

Well, this may or may not get me in the hot seat, mostly because I have not seen other bloggers attack each other in these forums.  However, today I stopped reading a blog I’ve been following for a long time because I strongly disagree with what’s been posted.  Don’t worry, it wasn’t any of you guys… it was a different blog I’ve been following from way back when.  And instead of blowing up all over the blog’s comment page, I figured I would blow up in the confines of my own, personal blogspace instead.

In short, the blogger’s daughter asked if she could play football like her older brother when she grew up.  And, essentially, was told no because she’s a girl and football is a boy sport.  When the daughter pointed out that there were two girls on her brother’s team, the blogger wondered aloud:

Yes, I see them.  I also see lots of the other boys not wanting to play with them, maybe because they are unsure of their skill, and maybe because many of them have been taught lessons just like my own son has – that boys are to be gentle with girls. Not aggressive. And certainly not the kind of testosterone-laced aggression that is at the core of a game like football.

I’ve also seen the moms reminding the coaches not to say “boys”, but to say “boys and girls.” And I’ve sat and wondered when it happened that tackle football stopped being a boy sport.

 

UUUUGGGHHHHH.  My blog-readership ended right there, but half an hour later I’m still fuming about it.  Grrr. Nothing gets my hackles up faster than people pinpointing and genderizing their kids like this.  If she wants to try football, let her try! If he wants to do ballet, let him try!  And how about, instead of “boys don’t hit girls because girls are fragile and need protecting,” we have “everyone keeps their hands to themselves because it’s not nice to hit”?

Grumblegrumblegrumble.  *steps off soap box and walks away muttering about gender roles and stereotypes*

4 responses to “Ugh.

  1. isa says:

    or even how about no because I love you and know what concussions can do to children, boys or girls? Yuck. I’d quit reading, too.

  2. yeah, i’d quit reading too. ugh.

  3. Ick. Good move on your part.

  4. lesboparentstobe says:

    I don’t blame you at all. I’d do the same thing.

Leave a Reply

