lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Breaking News…

on August 24, 2011

Or maybe-not-so-breaking, since we’ve kind of suspected all along. But anyways, I just got a message from my mom that my 13-year-old sister just came out.  She actually said she’s either gay or bi, but that she definitely has a crush on her best friend. Oh, sister.  You are following the same path as generations of lesbos before you.

I need to call that girl- she’s always been awkward on the phone but as the Senior Lesbian and her older sister, I think my duties are clear. 🙂  I also think I’m going to send her a welcome-to-being-gay package.  Something silly- something so that she knows I absolutely accept her as she is, and also something to kind of lighten the mood.  A rainbow belt. Rainbow knee-highs. Skittles. A plaid shirt.  What else should I include?!  Need ideas, lesbos!

PS- sorry for double posting today. Had to share!

5 responses to “Breaking News…

  1. prettyisa says:

    hmm…everything i think of is either too old for her or kind of a lesbian in-joke that a newbie (especially a young newbie!) might not get right away. How about some good queer girl fiction? I liked The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson (especially appropriate for a maybe gay/maybe bi teen girl crush), and also How They Met by David Levithan (that one is EXCELLENT! It’s a book of short love stories–all kinds! gay, straight, in the middle, just lovely). Congrats on the ‘family’ family! My mom embarasses me, but it’s fun going to gay things with her and my stepmom. Adds street cred or something…

  2. aw, fun idea! most of my ideas are “too old” too – i was trying to think of good movies, but i think they all have sex scenes in them! 😛

  3. X says:

    Cute pins/buttons! A lesbian mix cd! A CD single of “I’m coming out” Anything else rainbow (shoelaces, Goldfish crackers!) A picture of Ellen 😛 !

    And, to AnOffering above… at least the good movies do!

  4. Abby says:

    So neat! Now she’s family and she’s “family.” Double cool!
    A plaid shirt- that’s hilarious. I love it. I’d include a subscription to Curve.

  5. I would send her a copy of D.E.B.S. It’s cute and fits into her age range. 🙂
    Also, she needs a copy of a lesbian or bisexual book (if she likes to read).

Leave a Reply

