lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

My night last night

on June 23, 2011

So I just wanted to share my night last night. It looked something like this:

Any guesses? No? I guess I’ll just have to explain- there’s definitely a story behind it. =)

So we have 11 whole days left until our wedding. Eleven. 11!  That, my friends, is very very very very soon.  And only 8 more days (next Friday) until T1 and I leave for California (Shorty leaves with her sister a few days later since she has to work July 4th weekend).  Needless to say, we are simply buzzing with excitement over here.

There’s also been stress though.  More stress than I realized, actually… for example, just the other day I realized my period was late. Two and a half months late. ( And don’t ask me how I didn’t realize this before, it just never occurred to me that it was that late… and no, even though [ironically] this is a TTC blog, I am [sadly] NOT pregnant, and I haven’t been tracking my cycles, thus making it possible for my period to be THAT late and me not notice).  It could only be due to stress, since it’s never late like that, ever.  I shrugged it off though, figured my body would straighten itself out, and went on my merry way.

But last night, stress decided it did not want to be ignored and reared its ugly head again.   Shorty and I were walking through the grocery store, and I burst into tears.  Big, fat, sobbing tears.  Why? Because Shorty read an email of mine that I sent to my mom that had information about her sister coming to our wedding.  Her sister coming was supposed to be a surprise… as in, I booked the plane ticket secretly and last-minute, spent all day last saturday running around trying to find her sister a BM dress and then lied to Shorty (who was at work) about what I’d been doing all day (and had T1 lie too), and frantically made her sister another shell bouquet and then lied to Shorty about why I’d made another bouquet when she came home and I’d forgotten to hide it.  Phew. It was a lot of work (and lying? lol).  So the email- I let her read it, forgetting that info was in there, and now she knows.  Disappointing? Yes.  But did it warrant bawling in the middle of the grocery store? Probably not.  This is where the pictures from above came in.

My (rather concerned) fiance and my (equally concerned) mother (who I called, still bawling, to tell her the surprise was ruined) then decided last night needed to be a relaxation night for me.  I fought them a bit on it (it felt like I still had so much to do!)… and then gave in. And boy am I sure glad I did.

I had already planned a yummy, yummy dinner last night (homemade pesto cream sauce with fresh tomatos and pasta) so I went ahead and whipped that up (especially since I love food… nothing makes me more relaxed than eating delicious food!).  While I was doing that, Shorty opened a bottle of sparkling strawberry wine, produced locally at this place called Oliver Winery. Delicious.  So we had pesto pasta and strawberry wine (which surprisingly compliment each other quite nicely), and then as soon as dinner was done and T1 read to and put to bed (which Shorty took care of), Shorty drew me a nice. hot. bath.  With bubbles. And candles. And soft music.  And I got to soak for as long as I wanted and get all nice and pruney…. ahhhh, heaven.  And then when I got out, expecting my relaxation to be over (dinner needed putting away, after all!) she sent me upstairs to our room, put on more music, lit some candles, and I got a massage. A long massage- until I promptly fell asleep (passed out is more like it) and woke up this morning feeling oh, so much better. Much much more relaxed.  I didn’t even realize how stressed I was or how much I needed to relax until I was made to, but I feel so much better now… much less stressed, much more excited.  And, it just helps me to realize even more, how much I love this woman I am about to marry, and how much I am loved in return.

The end.

PS- so I was wrong yesterday. I think writing even that short little post helped me get over my temporary writer’s block, and now I have tons of stuff to share with you all!  Look for more posts coming soon to a blog near you. =)

6 responses to “My night last night

  1. Wow! What an amazing night! You got a good one 🙂
    Can’t wait to hear all about the wedding!!!

  2. LaurieAnn says:

    Wow! That sounds dreamy!!

  3. Sara says:

    I think I need me one of those days.

  4. fishina says:

    Lovely. So glad you got the pampering you deserve! Look forward to wedding details to come. 🙂

  5. Sounds absolutely lovely!

Leave a Reply

