lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

BFN (#1)

on May 31, 2011

Well, I think it’s officially time to call it.  Although Shorty’s temps stayed nice and high today, we still got a BFN on the test this morning… and at 13DPO, it’s looking pretty certain that this is that actual official result, rather than just another false negative.  We’re just waiting for AF to get here.

It’s okay though… it really is.  We’ve kind of prepared ourselves for it, so it’s not a huge downer, just a mild disappointment.  We’ll try again on the other side of the summer… right now, there’s so much other stuff going on (bridal shower, wedding, Thing 1’s 6th birthday party, camping trips, job changes) that it’s easier for us to wait a few more months to try again.  September, anyone???

At least now Shorty can go on all the fun rides with me at Disne.yland when we go after the wedding, and I have someone to pass my excess amount of drinks to at our (joint) bachelorette party.   Excellent. =)

PS- just a heads up that today will be a double post day- it’s Thing 1’s last day of kindergarten (!!!), and she’s getting a surprise “kid of the month” type award today in an assembly so I’ll post pics and such later on… I feel like our first BFN and our first child’s kindergarten graduation both deserve their own separate posts!!!  I will say that I shed a tear (or two) when I dropped her off this morning, after I made her stand still to take last-day-of-school pictures (with a black eye, more on this later) and she impatiently rolled her eyes at me and said “Come on, mom, I’m gonna be late” and huffed away into the building without so much as a backwards glance. Oh, how they grow…

7 responses to “BFN (#1)

  1. zunzunbobo says:

    sorry to hear of the bfn. you’ll enjoy the summer and all it’s preg-unfriendly treats and vices, and that bfp will be here before you know it!

  2. isa says:

    I’m sorry about the BFN. It’s not over til it’s over, but I can understand calling it before AF shows up. But congrats on the last day of kindergarten! And yes, I second lots of un-preggo fun this summer!

  3. Sorry to hear 😦 but I shall third the ‘yay for unpreggo fun!’ that’s what’s getting me through too!

  4. A (A&K) says:

    BFN’s pave the road to BFP’s…right??

    Happy graduation day T1 (and moms!) 🙂

  5. LaurieAnn says:

    Sending virtual hugs. BFNs are hard, even if you’re prepared. I look forward to seeing your second post today!

  6. damn, im sorry. ((()))

  7. lesboparentstobe says:

    I’m so sorry about the BFN. They really never do get easier. Totally agree about kindergarten graduation deserving it’s own post!

Leave a Reply

