lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Blogging Challenge and Temping Issues

on April 17, 2011

So before I get to today’s blogging challege, I have to say… I’m about ready to give temping the finger!!!  It didn’t work when I was temping, and it’s certainly not working now for C… we’ve been tracking her temps, and while they’re certainly more steady than mine were, we haven’t seen a rise in temp to indicate ovulation, even though we’re both pretty sure that all the signs point to her ovulating last Wednesday.  (TMI ahead). Signs include, EWCM, low/open/soft cervix positioning, and mild one-sided cramping.  Contra-indicators are her temps, which have remained resolutely low.  We have no OPK from the day before (forgot), so that doesn’t help us one way or the other.  Given all the data, we’re both inclined to just say she ovulated Wednesday, thanks anyways Fertility Friend.  What do you guys do when not all the signs line up? Trust FF, or go with your “gut”?

We’re trying to get a hold on her ovulation patterns sooner rather than later, here, in order to give us the best possible chance at this baby-makin process!  So anyways… if her temps don’t ever spike this month (and being on CD15, with a general 28 day cycle, I’m inclined to say they won’t), I think we’ll probably go with that assumed ovulation date.

On to the blog challenge!!!

Day 17-Something you’re looking forward to

I have so. many. things. that I’m looking forward to!!! In no particular order, they are:

– getting C pregnant & the baby being born

– bridal shower

– our wedding (11 weeks! not that I’m counting. :))

– our honeymoon (in the fall)

– my parents moving out here (if/when that happens)

– our friends’ baby being born

– in a weird way and as much as I’m dreading them, I would also like my quals to be here… just so I could get them over with.

The end.  And side note, I am dreading tomorrow. Why is it Monday? 😦

3 responses to “Blogging Challenge and Temping Issues

  1. zunzunbobo says:

    my temps were never reliable, so i finally stopped doing it. stopping made me a lot less crazy. just opks and the other signs, plus my cycle was super regular. all the professional babymaking folks in my life advised cutting out the temps. it just doesn’t help everyone!

  2. X says:

    I would go with my gut, but I would definitely be using those OPKs religiously just to get that additional confirmation 🙂

  3. Liz says:

    S’s temps were just a mess so we quickly gave up on it. Also our RE told us he didn’t think that it was all it’s cracked up to be and said he rather we use OPKs, so that’s what we do. We do however use 2 different brands 3xs a day, so we might be a bit obsessed!

Leave a Reply

