lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Okay so I have to say it…

on April 16, 2011

Are we pregnant yet? now???? How about now?!?!?!

Phew. Sorry. Had to get that off my chest. I SUCK at waiting for anything I want, and considering I want this baby more than anything…. GAH! waiting. grrrrr.

I asked C earlier why she wasn’t pregnant yet… her response? “Because you don’t have the goods, love. If either one of us had the ability to knock the other up, you’d be 8 months pregnant by now.”  I had to laugh, because she’s right. This is basically the one time where being a lesbian is an inconvenience! LOL.

Anyways,  I am behind on the blog challenge, so let’s get caught up:

Day 15-Bible verse

Well, I’m not really the bible type, so I’m going to share with you some of my favorite quotes instead… be warned, I LOVE quotes or anything poetic (to the point where my birthday present from my best friend one year was a Quotationary), so there will be quite a few of these!!! Here we go (and sorry, I don’t have the attributions for all of them).

“Though my soul may rise in darkness, it will set in perfect light; I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night.” (all time favorite)

***

“This place where we live we love more than we knew.”

***

“I like your Christ. I do not like your Christians. They are so unlike your Christ.”
-Ghandi

***

“In the depths of winter I finally learned that there was in me an invincible summer.”

***

“There is a destiny that makes us brothers,
none goes his way alone.
All that we send into the lives of others
comes back into our own.”

***

“Don’t stop believing.”  -Journey lyric (LOL)

***

“Am I a part of the cure,
or am I part of the disease?” -Coldplay lyric

***

“Jesus is coming. Look busy.”

***

“Always do the right thing. It will gratify some and astonish the rest.”
~Mark Twain

***

“All that is gold does not glitter,
not all those who wander are lost,
the old that is strong does not wither,
deep roots are not reached by the frost.”
-JRR Tolkein

***

“The less I seek my source for some definitive, the closer I am to fine.” -the lovely Indigo Girls

***

“The hardest to learn is the least complicated.” -again, the Girls…

***

“What did you do as a child that created timelessness and made you forget time? There lies the myth to live by.”

***

This poem, by Audre Lorde

and this one, by Rudyard Kipling

…and that, ladies and gentlemen, is a small selection of my favorites! Now, on to:

Day 16-Dream house

My dream house would be set in the redwoods, on the coast.  Maybe the Big Sur coast in Cali, or somewhere in the Pacific Northwest.  Someplace like this:

and it would be modern, yet blend well in the woods.  It would have a direct view of the ocean, yet not be so close to the cliffs as to make me nervous. It would have a large redwood deck area, grassy area to play in, and hammocks!!! Strung between the trees!  There would be sunflowers, and a vegetable garden.

Inside, it would have a “sun room” that would be a large glassed in room under the shade of the redwoods.  It would have a small library room… BIG kitchen, granite countertops and 2 dishwashers (LOL), with white cabinets (I don’t know why white, but that’s what I picture in my head).  If any of you have seen the Twilight movies (I admit, I have!) it would look a LOT like the Cullen’s house… simple, clean, modern lines, basic wood and glass… surrounded by nature, beautiful and breathtaking!

Anyways, those are my dreams.  That’s all they are, is dreams, for now… but maybe someday we’ll get to live in the redwoods.  We’ll see.

2 responses to “Okay so I have to say it…

  1. isa says:

    Oh, man. We have the opposite of this conversation. I say why am I not pregnant, and Lynn apologizes (sincerely) for her low sperm count. Silly, but yes, definitely one of the few drawbacks I’ve run into about same sex partnerhood.

Leave a Reply

