lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Day 4- My Parents (A)

on April 4, 2011

I almost forgot to do the D4 blogging challenge.

My parents are my mom and my stepdad (whom I call John).  I never knew my bio dad but my parents met when I was 4 years old and got married when I was 8 (I was a flower girl in their wedding).  John and I had a rocky relationship, but Mom and I were close… abnormally close? Possibly.  I still feel close to her- she is one of my greatest sources of support, comfort, and advice.

My mom had me when she was 19 years old, and we like to joke that I’ve been to college twice now- once for my own classes, and once when I was very small and would tag along with her to her classes because she was a single mom who couldn’t afford daycare.  In spite of having a toddler-in-tow, she graduated with her BS in four years and went on to teach.  I’m still trying to figure out how she did it…. I’m in grad school, which is generally more flexible than undergrad, and still having a 5 year old is hard sometimes! I can’t imagine putting myself through undergrad with a toddler. Crazy.  So, she’s a strong woman who I am coming to appreciate more and more with every passing day. Turns out a lot of the stuff she said to me when I was a teenager was right on the money- even if I am just now finding that out. Who knew?

So that’s my parents folks? And now if you’ll excuse me, C and I are going to be lame, tired, cranky lesbians and hit the sack… and it’s not even 9 o’clock yet. Pathetic, I know. I blame the (rainy, cold, horrid) weather. Night!

2 responses to “Day 4- My Parents (A)

  1. Liz says:

    I don’t know how I’ve missed your blog, but I’m here now! I’ve added you to my blog list and look forward to following your path!

Leave a Reply

