lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Insert Update Here

on March 31, 2011

Hey ya’ll. So, a few things….

  • I have decided to officially participate in the 2011 color photography project! So excited!  I am, however, going to wait until next month officially starts before I post any colors, seeing as how it’s the last day of March and I am not prepared.  But expect future color photos!
  • The weather: Ummm yeah sorry but I have to make note of this one.  Yesterday when I started my day, it was cloudy, cold, but not too cold.  I had a half an hour appointment midmorning, and while it was perfectly dry and clear out going into the appointment, when I came out, this is what I saw:

    Ridiculous.

    Then, an hour later, it was sunny and the snow was completely gone again.  Weirdest. Weather pattern. Ever!  I’m soooooo ready for the warmth of summer time… no more snow!

  • Secondly, since you all had such a great response to my wedding invites post, I have decided to once again use you as my guinea pigs for a sneak preview of yet another DIY project- my bouquets. Now, keep in mind that I don’t have a problem with flowers, but I wanted something… special? Different? Something I could use as a keepsake from my (beach) wedding.  These are also surprises for the recipients, hence the reason I am soliciting here for opinions instead of texting my bridesmaids.  So with that in mind, I created (the first of 6) seashell bouquets!  And I am honestly seeking feedback.  Whatcha think? Is there anything you would change to make it look better? I have to make 5 more of these puppies, plus a bigger one for myself, so any feedback about improvements would be helpful! Here’s the first one I’ve made (and to give credit where credit is due, C did help a bit):

    Please excuse the dirty kitchen background... it was the only place in my house with enough lighting!

    slightly different view...

    Thoughts? Anything you would add? More ribbon, less ribbon? Let me know, and much appreciated. 🙂

 

  • On the TTC front… well, really there still isn’t much news.  C is learning how to temp in the mornings, which has been interesting considering she basically sleeps like the dead and is VERY hard to wake.  So I guess when I say “C” is learning how to temp, I mean that I am learning to help her.  But hey, whatever works to get us to our baby, right?  Other than temping/prenatal vitamins/etc, we’ve pretty much settled into routine life.  We both know we’ll get to try soonish, and we’re both content with that and are just moving through life as usual (although I have been known to ask C out of the blue, “Are you pregnant yet?”  To which the answer is, sadly, always no. But not forever! Someday it will be a yes!).  But yes, life as usual. hm. So this is how it feels to not be obssessing over TTC (quite so much).  It’s rather blissful and if it helps me to get through our waiting period in order to reach our trying period, then I’ll take it!

Alrighty, that’s about all I’ve got right now. I have a draft saved that I’ve been working on, about some problems with a friend and “drifting” in general, but that’s a heavier post and I’m not quite ready to post it yet, so stay tuned. It’s a-comin.  Have a good last day of March!

4 responses to “Insert Update Here

  1. Isa says:

    I LOVE the bouquet! I wouldn’t change anything! The only question is how you’ll do a bigger one for you without it getting too big. Maybe some flowers in with the seashells? Or just do the same size but use different colored shells? i don’t know, but the one you made is gorgeous!

    Also, March was brown, so i think your ‘weather’ shot totally counts for the color contest…

    • lezbemoms says:

      Awesome, let’s call that my March shot then, shall we?

      And thanks for the bouquet feedback. You brought up a good point, I’m not sure how to make it bigger without making it ridiculous… the “base” for that one was 5″, and the “base” for the one for me is 6″… so maybe that’ll be too big? As far as colors… Mine is also going to be mostly white shells (I think?) with some blue glass stones. I’ll have to post it when I’m done and see. Thanks!

  2. X says:

    I feel ya on the going along for the ride / not making TTC the CENTRAL FOCUS of everything. I don’t want to be here too too long, but for now it’s nice to just focus on the preparation and doing the “right” things so that when we’re all the way ready, all systems will be go 🙂

  3. I also love the bouquets. I have no idea how you did it, but what a great idea. I’m so not a DIY person (because I have zero artistic ability) but I totally admire you for it!

Leave a Reply

