lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Tonight, I lied to my five year old…

on March 24, 2011

…about whether or not we had anymore ice cream in the house.

“Mommy, can I have ice cream?” she asked, cherubically.

Immediately the script in my head took over. No you can’t have that ice cream, child! Don’t you know there’s only one scoop left?

“No honey, we don’t have anymore ice cream” (that you can have). “You can have a few jellybeans instead” because I’ve had my mind on that damn ice cream all. day. And it may or may not have been what got me through my workday and kept me from slapping that smug look off my coworker’s face sane.

*child walks away happily munching her sugarbeans.* Good thing she likes jellybeans.

And yeah, I know. I lied to my fiver year old… over ice cream.

At least it was yummy.

Leave a Reply

