lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

The wrong side of the weekend

on March 21, 2011

Welcome back to the work week folks- another Monday, another five days until the weekend.  How was yours, by the way?

Ours was GREAT. Truly fantastic- best weekend I’ve had in a long time.  Saturday our friends came over with their little boy, and he and TO spent the whole day chasing each other around the house and yard while us grown ups had Grown Up Time and sat and played cards.  Behold, the power of friends- the kids leave you alone and the grown-ups get a break.  AHHHH-mazing. I also love me some card games (even in C was ready to kill me when we were playing teams because I kept screwing up and playing the wrong suit. whatever).

Then Sunday- was the meetup! And it was awesome.  3 other families showed up with their kids, and we spent a few hours at a local park and nature center, getting to know each other while the kids played.  It was great to be among people who have the same kind of families as we have.  As the meetup drew to a close, we started discussing possible future meetup ideas, and (much to C’s dismay), I found myself volunteering to host a meetup at our (very small, cozy) house.  Yeah, not quite sure what I was thinking or how I’m going to entertain people when a bunch of lesbians and their kids descend upon my doorstep, but… we’ll figure it out (any ideas?!?!? lol).  In any case I’m looking forward to future meetups.

Finally, the icing on the cake for this weekend was C and I finally giving in last night and buying ourselves a new grill… we’ve only wanted one for forever.  Before the big purchase we were cooking on this old, lopsided tiny smokey joe, and it just wasn’t cutting it.  Our new grill isn’t a monster or anything but compared to the old one… it’s got acres and acres of space!  To celebrate our purchase we grilled steak and asparagus and had mashed potatoes. MMMmmmm, yummy.

And that brings me up to here, now, the present. I got in to work this morning to discover that my PI (boss) had taken an unannounced (to me, anyway) two week trip to China.  Awesome- I think? Not exactly sure what to do for two weeks, work-wise, but again, I’m sure I can figure it out. Or not. 😉

Anyways, I do have some other, heavier TTC related stuff to post about, but it’s all still swirling around in my head right now too fast to type it all out… I can’t make sense of any of it yet. I’ll process some more and get back to you with it, okie dokie?  And in the meantime, I’ll leave you with the hope that you all had swell weekends and that your pregnancies/TTCs/parenting are all going great!

-A

One response to “The wrong side of the weekend

  1. X says:

    I’m super glad the meetup went well (and good luck hosting!)

Leave a Reply

