lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Get moving

on March 10, 2011

Holy wowcow.  Changing the date to June introduces a whole new ballgame.

Things I had plenty of time for before- time to start taking prenatal vitamins, time to look through and 100% be sure of our sperm bank and donors, time to make lifestyle changes such as eating better and exercising- are now immediate priorities.  It takes 3 months for an egg to mature and so the egg that we hope to make into a baby in June is starting on that path THIS MONTH, and everything I do from now until June will affect it.  I need to get my act together!

Along these lines, C and I are basically 100% settled on our sperm bank, and have a few top donor choices in mind (one in particular). The paperwork is all filled out, we just need to go get it witnessed, signed and notorized so that we can send it in- hopefully we’ll take care of that tonight.  As we’re going through this process, it’s been interesting for me to compare our method of choosing donors with what I’ve read on how others have chosen.  I’ve read many, many posts on ordering donor profiles, pictures, voice matchups and what-have-you… we haven’t done any of that. What we have done, is search the donor catalog extensively, screening for certain attributes to ensure our child looks like us, and then going through the donor profiles and donor essays provided online to see which ones we want to pick, based on how much the donor seems like us and how much education they’ve had.  So um, are we doing this right? I hope so!  We do definitely have a solid number one donor choice that I am 100% confident in,  and a pretty solid number two as well. So I think we’ll be okay.

Other than that, I’m ordering FertiliTea (C came up with this idea, anyone know if it works?), going to the gym (I needed to do this anyways, prewedding), and eating more vegetables (amazing how a possible child can inspire me to take much better care of myself than I would if left to my own devices).  Prenatals will be added to the mix here soon, and of course charting is an ongoing process (I’m feeling much better about this next cycle- from all my reading, it seems like the erratic temperatures are mainly due to the fact that I’m a mouth breather, and that makes the temps inaccurate.  Switching to vaginal temping (never thought I’d be saying that) should solve that problem!).

All in all, the TTC ball has slowly begun rolling, and it feels good to get moving and start this process.  I can’t wait for June!

6 responses to “Get moving

  1. I drink the FertiliTea – no idea if it works yet 🙂 But it makes me feel like I’m doing something, ya know? And the way you selected your donor sounds exactly the same as we selected ours – hair/eye color of Nicki, well schooled and doesn’t sound like a complete douche! I hope we did it right too 🙂

    • lezbemoms says:

      Yeah, I definitely have been itching to start doing something towards making this baby! That’s part of the reason why I’m so excited about the move up to June.

      I’ll let you know when I get my fertilitea how it’s working… we can compare notes. =)

  2. Michaela says:

    How cool!!! June isn’t that far away! 😀 Would be a perfect ball game because we are having our baby boy in June so you could continue 😀 😀

  3. Joey says:

    I drank the fertilitea, I can’t say if that’s what worked, but I am typing this one handed while I nurse my 7 month old son back to sleep. It was an easy thing to do and it made me feel like I was doing something! Best wishes!
    Joey

    • lezbemoms says:

      well who can argue with results like that? My fertilitea is on its way, should be here this week and I am anxious to get started! Thanks for the good wishes. =)

Leave a Reply

