lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

2am on a Sunday

on February 27, 2011

Hi everyone this is C again, my post for the day week. It’s 2:30 in the morning, and I’m sitting at work bored bored bored.  I work in a prison as a correctional officer, and usually I work days, but this weekend I got schedule adjusted to work nights (long story).  I work 12 hour shifts, usually from 6am to 6pm, however this weekend it is 6pm to 6am. Now days is a tad bit different (and when I say tad I mean ton different than nights), when I come in at 6am I hit the ground running and its non stop till I leave at 6pm. Nights however is the complete opposite, I hit the ground and move absolutely no where, and being used to working all day and sleeping at night, all of a sudden swapping my schedule has not be an easy thing to do.  So I’m on my 9th-ish cup of coffee, a tad hyper and watching the clock as it slowly ticks by, so I thought I would take this time to work off some coffee overdose by blogging about nothing to particularly important. Lucky you, right =)

I’m feeling pretty useless right now (well useless may not be the right word, but it’s 2:30 in the morning so it’s the best I can come up with.) Anyways back to what I was saying, I’m feeling useless right now in the whole TTC operation that A and I have going on. There’s really not much I can do right now, it’s all A and tracking ovulation etc. I really can’t help in that area yet. Although thinking about it I guess I should get use to it, cause once Thing 2 is baking it’s all A  doing all the work and I’m just hanging out waiting for Thing 2 to finish baking. Once Thing 2 is actually baking I’ll at least have the role of being super supportive, foot rubs, back rubs, running out at 2 in the morning, (on days that I don’t work, and yes A this is directly talking to you!) for those cravings she will have. So in that way I will have a job and be helpful, but as of today, I can’t even really be supportive- I mean what do I do stand outside the bathroom door and cheer OVULATE OVULATE YOU CAN DO IT!! while she’s peeing on a stick? I don’t see that as being to helpful. Sigh.

In other news on the parenting front, Thing 1 is in Kindergarten and she has what we call popcorn words- little words, like “the”, “is”, “she”, “like”, “little”, etc, that “pop” up everywhere, hence the name popcorn words.  We have been working on these words via flashcards every night- she has 39 words that she should know so far in school. So far there’s been a couple that she just couldn’t get, so we’ve been working with her every night on her words. We had a prize for her for when she got them all correct the first time and yesterday before I left for work we did her cards and SHE GOT THEM ALL CORRECT. so she got her prize which was 2 Jake and Annie Magic Tree House books, which are currently her favorite. She was so proud of herself and A and I were super proud of her. Also, we think it’s pretty cool that her reward for reading words correctly is to get BOOKS- she loves being read to right now and we hope to foster a life-long love of learning in her, by giving her books and encouraging her reading.

So that’s where we stand right now.  I’m out of words, and out of coffee more importantly, so I’m going to end this now and go hunt down my 10ish cup of coffee.

until next time =)

-C

Leave a Reply

