lezbemoms

Raising a Blended Family

Waiting game

on February 9, 2011

Speaking of motherhood… Thing One lost her first tooth last night! And I got to be the one yanking it out of her mouth and reassuring her that all the blood was normal honey, really, I promise, as C was working late and it was just Thing One and I in the house.  So now she’s our little front tooth gap-toothed girl, at least until adult tooth numero uno grows in.  Not looking forward to that, by the way- this kid is gonna need braces, BAD. Wallet, meet orthodontist.  Orthodontist, meet wallet.

Ah, joy.

So hopefully, this will not be the last First Tooth we encounter, but for that to happen, we need to have our next child, and for THAT to happen, my period needs to cooperate. Oh sorry- my cycle. That seems to be the preferred language on all the fertility blogs and boards. Cycle. Not period. Got it. ANYhow… my cycle or period or whatever you want to call it needs to cooperate!  I am all ready to start with my BBT tracking- I have my pen, notepad, chart, and basal thermometer all set up within arms’ reach on my nightstand. I have an account on fertilityfriend dot com.   I have read all there is to know about when to take my temperature (first thing in the morning, before you even BREATHE), how to take my temperature (orally, vaginally, or rectally, in case you were wondering… but really, who’s gonna stick a thermometer up their whooha every morning when they could just pop the thing in their mouth? And how would one go about doing so without violating the don’t sit up/don’t move/don’t even BREATHE until you temp is taken rule? Quandry…), and how to chart it.  All that I need is for my cycle to actually start so I can start charting! We are on cycle day 35 over here, folks, CD35. This is ridiculous. I am normally a 31-34 day girl, so naturally, as soon as I decide I would really like my period to come so that I can take the first steps towards TTC, my cycle decides to be irregular and extend itself by an unknown number of days. Naturally.

And I know this is why I’m charting however-many-months in advance, so that I can get a feel for these sorts of things and be able to predict when I’m going to ovulate, but really, for someone as excited as I am to have to sit and wait for her body to cooperate is torture. Torture I tell you.  I suck at waiting.

And no, I don’t want to talk about how I’m going to get through 9 10 months of waiting pregnancy. Go away.

-A

Leave a Reply

